Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Buck Owens And The Buckaroos — A Merry “Hee Haw” Christmas

Buck Owens And The Buckaroos — A Merry “Hee Haw” Christmas

Buck Owens And The Buckaroos

A Merry “Hee Haw” Christmas

Release date: November 13, 2020


Pre-Order $16.98

Digital available November 13

First time on CD, remastered with bonus Toys For Tots tracks.

Buck Owens And His Buckaroos were untouchable in the 1960s. Their classic Bakersfield brand of country sent hit after hit up the charts, even Christmas tunes weren’t safe from the Buckaroos magic. Buck and His Buckaroos recorded two classic Christmas albums for Capitol, first Christmas With Buck Owens And His Buckaroos in 1965 and three years later, Christmas Shopping in 1968.

Not only did both albums make the Billboard Christmas Album Chart (Christmas With charted multiple times—#12 in 1965, and #23 in both 1966 and 1967, and #31 for Christmas Shopping on), but they both threw off charting singles as well. “Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy (Daddy Looked A Lot Like Him)” drawn from Christmas With Buck Owens And His Buckaroos proved to be so popular a holiday favorite, it charted twice hitting #2 in 1965 and two years later in December ’67 revisiting the charts and making it to #18. In 1968, it was the title track of the second classic Christmas offering, Christmas Shopping that made it to #5.

Going back to the holiday well in 1970, Capitol cashed in again with a double LP distillation of the two albums called A Merry ‘Hee Haw’ Christmas, which would chart at #34. For that compilation, two songs were omitted, one from each original album, and they’ve been reinstated for Omnivore’s reissue. “All I Want For Christmas Is My Daddy” and “It’s Not What You Give” were left off the Christmas Shopping disc, while “Santa Looked a Lot Like Daddy (Daddy Looked a Lot Like Him)” was lost from the Christmas With album—a curious omission since it was the most successful Christmas single ever offered by Buck.

Making its CD and digital debut, A Merry “Hee Haw” Christmas is now augmented with four bonus tracks. “All I Want For Christmas Is My Daddy,” “Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy (Daddy Looked A Lot Like Him)” and two Toys For Tots public service announcements originally issued on a 1972 Capitol promotional single now round out the program. Newly remastered from the original analog master tapes by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, Michael Graves, these holiday favorites sparkle and shine like never before. Produced by Grammy® Nominated- and Award-winning producers, Patrick Milligan and Cheryl Pawelski with estate approval, Omnivore Recordings is proud to contribute to your happy holidays!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Christmas Shopping
  2. Christmas Time Is Near
  3. The Jolly Christmas Polka
  4. All I Want For Christmas Is My Daddy
  5. Merry Christmas From Our House To Yours
  6. Good Old Fashioned Country Christmas
  7. One Of Everything You Got
  8. Home On Christmas Day
  9. Christmas Schottische
  10. A Very Merry Christmas
  11. It’s Not What You Give
  12. Tomorrow Is Christmas Day
  13. Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy (Daddy Looked A Lot Like Him)
  14. Blue Christmas Lights
  15. Christmas Ain’t Christmas
  16. Jingle Bells
  17. All I Want For Christmas Dear Is You
  18. Santa’s Gonna Come In A Stagecoach
  19. Christmas Time’s A Comin’
  20. Blue Christmas Tree
  21. Here Comes Santa Claus Again
  22. Christmas Morning
  23. It’s Christmas Time For Everyone But Me
  24. Because It’s Christmas Time
    Toys For Tots Bonus Tracks:

  1. Toys For Tots (Version 1)
  2. Toys For Tots (Version 1)

Cat: OV-403

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: , , ,