Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Van Duren — Idiot Optimism

Van Duren — Idiot Optimism

Van Duren

Idiot Optimism

Release date: October 30, 2020


Van Duren’s sophomore album, finally released as Van intended.

After the release of Are You Serious?, Van Duren immediately returned to the studio—recording 14 tracks (one being a medley of two songs) that rivaled his tremendous debut. But, the album was shelved and didn’t see the light of day for two decades, when inexplicably, it was released in Japan without any input from the artist.

The story is chronicled in the acclaimed documentary Waiting: The Van Duren Story. Now, at long last—Idiot Optimism returns on CD as Van originally intended it to look and sound. Plus, it makes its first-ever appearance on (double) LP and Digital.

With full creative control from Duren, this reissue of Idiot Optimism is packaged with new art, liners from Van outlining the story of the album, and many previously unseen photos. Featuring 14 originals and a cover of Chris Bell’s (Big Star) “Make A Scene,” this new edition is remastered from the original analog tapes. Idiot Optimism has never looked nor sounded better.


    CD / 2-LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Bear With Me All The Way
  2. Make A Scene
  3. Tennessee, I’m Trying
  4. Convincing Convictions
  5. That
  6. Life In Layers
  7. What’s Keeping You?
  8. Torn In Half
  9. Hand Over Hand
  10. Andy, Please
  11. Woman Needs Man Needs Woman
  12. Mabel (I’m Amazed)
  13. Reminds Me Of Me
  14. Medley: Love At The Heart Of It / Mad At The Moon

Cat: OV-376

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: , ,