Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Van Duren — Are You Serious?

Van Duren — Are You Serious?

Van Duren

Are You Serious?

Release date: October 30, 2020


Debut album from Memphis pop icon returns.

A Memphis pop icon, Van Duren was not only a contemporary of Big Star, he played with both Chris Bell and Jody Stephens in The Baker Street Regulars. Managed by Andrew Loog Oldham (The Rolling Stones), his 1978 debut album, Are You Serious?, found folks comparing him to artists like Todd Rundgren and Paul McCartney. He recorded a second album, which was shelved, then eventually released in Japan without his involvement.

Now, four decades later, thanks to the acclaimed documentary Waiting: The Van Duren Story, and its soundtrack, many discovered Van Duren for the first time, while those who knew about him found out what really happened. Finally, Are You Serious? Returns, remastered from the original analog tapes on CD, LP, and—for the first time—Digital.

Thirteen originals written by Duren (with Jody Stephens being the only co-writer on one track), and packaging featuring new liner notes from Van and previously unseen photos, it’s time to get serious about the album that has had collectors searching high and low for a copy for years. Looking and sounding better than ever, it’s time for Are You Serious?


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Chemical Fire
  2. This Love Inside
  3. Oh Babe
  4. Waiting
  5. Grow Yourself Up
  6. Guaranteed
  7. Positive (Wedding Song)
  8. New Year’s Eve
  9. So Good To Me (For The Time Being)
  10. Yellow Light
  11. For A While
  12. Stupid Enough
  13. The Love That I Love

Cat: OV-375

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: , ,