Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Alex Chilton — A Man Called Destruction

Alex Chilton — A Man Called Destruction

Alex Chilton

A Man Called Destruction

Release date: August 25, 2017


Chilton’s 1995 return to rock—on LP for the first time!

As lead singer of The Box Tops and co-founder of Big Star, Alex Chiton’s place in rock history would have been solid. But, he was never one to rest on his laurels. An enormous music fan himself, he consistently reinvented himself musically throughout his career. The ’90s found him crooning a set of standards (on Clichés, his first full-length in seven years), touring with a reformed Big Star, and releasing 1995’s A Man Called Destruction.

Returning to Memphis and the legendary Ardent Studios, Destruction was a classic Chilton mix of originals and covers, this time with a full-horn section. A mix of garage rock, jazz and R&B, A Man Called Destruction was very well received by fans and critics, and even landed him a spot on Late Night With Conan O’Brien performing the album’s “Lies.”

Two decades later, Destruction reappears—complete with 7 previously unissued tracks from the original sessions and new liner notes from best-selling writer Bob Mehr (Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements). To make this reintroduction even more special, the title is making its vinyl debut. The first pressing will be a translucent blue double album, which includes all of the bonus tracks, and Mehr’s essay in the gatefold sleeve.

With the renewed interest and appreciation for his work in Big Star, it is the perfect time for Chilton’s solo work to get the same due. It is time for a reintroduction of A Man Called Destruction.


    CD / 2-LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Sick And Tired
  2. Devil Girl
  3. Lies
  4. It’s Your Funeral
  5. What’s Your Sign Girl
  6. Il Ribelle
  7. You Don’t Have To Go
  8. Boplexity
  9. New Girl In School
  10. You’re Lookin’ Good
  11. Don’t Know Anymore
  12. Don’t Stop
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

  1. Devil Girl (Double-Track Vocal)
  2. Don’t Know Anymore (Rough Mix)
  3. Give It To Me Baby (Take 3)
  4. You’re My Favorite
  5. (I Don’t Know Why) But I Do
  6. Please Pass Me My Walkin’ Shoes
  7. Why Should I Care/It’s Your Funeral

Cat: OV-227

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: , ,