Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Peter Holsapple vs. Alex Chilton — The Death Of Rock

Peter Holsapple vs. Alex Chilton — The Death Of Rock

Peter Holsapple vs. Alex Chilton

The Death Of Rock

Release date: October 12, 2018


Newly discovered recordings of early solo Peter Holsapple and Like Flies On Sherbert–era Alex Chilton.


“I caught Alex exiting a world of sweet pop that I was only just trying to enter, and the door hit me on the way in, I guess”

—Peter Holsapple


It’s 1978 at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis, TN. Peter Holsapple had rolled into town chasing the essence of Big Star. He hooked up with musician/engineer/friend-of-Big-Star, Richard Rosebrough after approaching, and being turned down by, Chris Bell who Holsapple had hoped might be interested in producing him. Together Richard and Peter started laying down tracks during the off hours at the studio.

Chilton meanwhile, was knee deep in the making of Like Flies On Sherbert, also being tracked at Phillips. He told Peter, “I heard some of that stuff you’re working on with Richard… and it really sucks.” Alex promised to come by and show Peter “how it’s done.”

The results? Alex’s tracks definitely line up with the chaos found on Flies, while several of Peter’s songs found homes on The dB’s albums (“Bad Reputation” and “We Were Happy There”) and on an album by The Troggs (“The Death Of Rock” retooled as “I’m In Control”), so not a loss at all. What we have in these newly discovered tapes, is a fascinating pivot point with both artists moving past each other headed in distinctly different directions. Chilton moved toward punk/psychobilly as he began playing with Tav Falco’s Panther Burns and produced The Cramps debut, Songs The Lord Taught Us, within a few months of these recordings. Holsapple was off to New York to audition for The dB’s and enter the world of “sweet pop.”

Liner notes by Peter Holsapple tell the story of these recordings firsthand and author/filmmaker/Memphian, Robert Gordon, helps pull the time and place into focus. Previously unseen photos included in the package are drawn from the collections of Peter Holsapple and Pat Rainer. Produced by Cheryl Pawelski with mastering by Mike Graves at Osiris Studio and Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl/Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis, who brings it all right back to where it started.


    CD / Digtal Track List:
    Peter Holsapple:

  1. Bad Reputation
  2. House Is Not A Home
  3. We Were Happy There
  4. The Death Of Rock
  5. Take Me Back
  6. Take Me Back (Backing Track)
    Alex Chilton:

  1. Tennis Bum
  2. Marshall Law
  3. Heart And Soul
  4. Train Kept A Rollin’
  5. Hey Mona
    Bonus Abuse: Peter Holsapple (except *Alex Chilton)

  1. Bad Reputation (Long Version)
  2. Tennis Bum (Rehearsal)*
  3. O My Soul (Instrumental Rehearsal)
  4. In The Street (Instrumental Rehearsal)
  5. Baby I Love You (Rehearsal)
  6. The Death Of Rock (Rehearsal)
  7. Someone’s Gotta Shine Your Shoes (Rehearsal)
  8. Mind Your Manners (4-Track Version With Vocals)
    LP consists of Tracks 1–11.

Cat: OV-303

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: ,