Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Big Star — Complete Third: Vol. 2: Roughs To Mixes

Big Star — Complete Third: Vol. 2: Roughs To Mixes

Big Star

Complete Third: Vol. 2: Roughs To Mixes

Release date: February 10, 2017


Second of three volumes that will bring Big Star’s Complete Third to vinyl.


“Ask any of the original participants who made the record, and none of them would say they expected this album to even see a real release, much less end up on Rolling Stone>’s list of the 500 best albums of all time… It’s an amazing snapshot of the artists and the times and circumstances in which the recordings were made. It’s a great testament to Third that an album that almost nobody was interested in at the time of its pressing, is now loved and sought out by an ever growing legion of fans. I guess that’s called ‘ahead of its time.’”

—Excerpt from Adam Hill’s Complete Third liner notes.


Record Store Day/Black Friday saw the release of the first in a series of three volumes of double LPs that will contain the entire, critically acclaimed Big Star Complete Third boxed set. Volume 2, titled Roughs To Mixes continues the journey, featuring rough mixes from producer Jim Dickinson, as well as Ardent’s John Fry, with over 15 previously unissued tracks. Almost every song on this collection is making its vinyl debut.

Included are Lesa Aldridge’s take on The Velvet Underground’s “After Hours,” and a version of “For You” with vocals from Alex Chilton (songwriter and Big Star drummer Jody Stephens sang the iconic album version.)

This release is the bridge from the early demos, and the listener can feel the progression toward what would be listed as one of Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time—Big Star’s Third.


    2-LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Big Black Car (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)
  2. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On (Dickinson Rough Mix)
  3. Take Care (Dickinson Rough Mix)
  4. Holocaust (Dickinson Rough Mix)
  5. Nightime (Dickinson Rough Mix)
  6. Thank You Friends (Dickinson Rough Mix)
    Side 2:

  1. Nature Boy (Dickinson Rough Mix)
  2. After Hours – Lesa
  3. Stroke It Noel (Backward Intro)
  4. Lovely Day (Fry Rough Mix)
  5. Nightime (Fry Rough Mix)
  6. Blue Moon (Fry Rough Mix)
  7. Till The End Of The Day (Alternate Mix #1)
  8. Big Black Car (Fry Rough Mix)
    Side 3:

  1. Holocaust (Fry Alternate/Rough Mix)
  2. Downs (Fry Rough Mix)
  3. Kanga Roo (Fry Rough Mix)
  4. Femme Fatale (Fry Rough Mix)
  5. For You (Alternate Version/Alex Vocal)
    Side 4:

  1. Thank You Friends (Fry Rough Mix)
  2. Take Care (Fry Rough Mix)
  3. Kizza Me (Fry Rough Mix)
  4. Till The End Of The Day (Fry Rough Mix #2/Lesa Vocals) – Lesa
  5. Nature Boy (Fry Rough Mix)
  6. Mañana

Cat: OV-202

Categories: , , ,

Tags: , ,