Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Muffs — Happy Birthday To Me

The Muffs — Happy Birthday To Me

The Muffs

Happy Birthday To Me

Release date: March 3, 2017


20th anniversary edition of their 1997 classic!


I love this album. It means a lot to me. It was a very creative time for me personally, and for The Muffs.

—Kim Shattuck


While Blonder And Blonder might have been our big swing, it was on Happy Birthday To Me where we felt like we’d achieved everything.

—Ronnie Barnett


Happy Birthday To Me is my favorite Muffs album. From start to fi nish, it’s the one that best represents what we’re about.

—Roy McDonald


When singer, songwriter, and guitarist Kim Shattuck took the production reigns for their third album, The Muffs knew they were going to deliver something special. As she says in her liner notes, “It was the fi rst time I ever produced, and I was super proud of my new batch of songs. “Happy Birthday To Me had more hooks than my daddy’s fi shing hat” (according to drummer Roy McDonald) and, bassist Ronnie Barnett says, “All cylinders were fi ring, our collective dream was being lived, and it was on our terms.”

Twenty years later, Happy Birthday To Me reaches a new audience. Available on LP for the fi rst time in those two decades (fi rst pressing on white vinyl, with black to follow), as well as on CD (expanded with a U.K. B-side and 6 previously unissued demos), it’s as vital as ever. Both formats feature photos, liner notes from the band, track-by-track commentary from Shattuck, and new mastering from multiple Grammy® winners Gavin Lurssen and Reuben Cohen.

You don’t need to close your eyes and make a wish. This stellar reissue of Happy Birthday To Me proves that you can have your cake, and eat it too. Dig in.


    CD / LP Track List:

  1. Crush Me
  2. That Awful Man
  3. Honeymoon
  4. All Blue Baby
  5. My Crazy Afternoon
  6. Is It All Okay?
  7. Pennywhore
  8. Outer Space
  9. I’m A Dick
  10. Nothing
  11. Where Only I Could Go
  12. Upside Down
  13. You And Your Parrot
  14. Keep Holding Me
  15. The Best Time Around
    Bonus Track:

  1. Pacer
    Unwrapped Bonus Tracks:

  1. Till You Walk Away (Crush Me)(Demo)*
  2. That Awful Man(Demo)*
  3. Honeymoon(Demo)*
  4. My Crazy Afternoon(Demo)*
  5. Outer Space(Demo)*
  6. The Best Time Around(Demo)*
    * Previously unissued.
    LP consists of Tracks 1–15.

Cat: OV-203

Categories: , , , , ,