Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Alex Chilton and Hi Rhythm Section — Boogie Shoes: Live On Beale Street

Alex Chilton and Hi Rhythm Section — Boogie Shoes: Live On Beale Street

Alex Chilton and Hi Rhythm Section

Boogie Shoes: Live On Beale Street

Release date: May 7, 2021


Unissued 1999 live set from Alex Chilton (The Box Tops/Big Star) and Hi Rhythm Section


“I never saw him have so much fun on stage. Without rehearsal, Alex called songs and the band locked in. The horn section consists of top Memphis session guys who huddled together when each song was called creating parts on the fly. The pure joy of playing this music so freely with such legendary musicians comes across in every groove of the record.”

—David Less, from his liner notesAmerican Crime Story, and more).


Memphis is a city with music in its blood. When Fred Ford, co-founder of the Beale Street Music Festival, was diagnosed with cancer, David Less organized Fredstock, a fund raiser to help with his medical bills. Less contacted Memphis legend Alex Chilton (The Box Tops, Big Star), who was living in New Orleans, to ask him to participate. Alex said he didn’t have any musicians to play with in Memphis, so Less suggested the Hi Rhythm Section (the band behind classics from artists including Ann Peebles, Ike & Tina Turner, O. V. Wright, Otis Clay, and Al Green). Alex replied, “That will work.”

This previously unissued live set contains versions of soul classics from The Supremes and Otis Clay, rock numbers from Chuck Berry and Little Richard, and even a cover of the KC & The Sunshine Band title track. Available on CD, Digital, and LP, Boogie Shoes: Live On Beale Street was recorded at the New Daisy Theater in Memphis in 1999, during Fredstock.

Packaging contains liner notes from Producer David Less, a friend of Chilton, and author of the acclaimed Memphis Mayhem: A Story Of The Music That Shook Up The World, and features a cover from rock & roll and folk art painter, Lamar Sorrento.

Get ready to discover this performance by Memphis icons—tearing it up on stage, making music, and having fun. You’ll want to put on y-y-y-y-your Boogie Shoes.


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Boogie Shoes
  2. Precious, Precious
  3. 634-5789
  4. Kansas City
  5. Lucille
  6. Big Boss Man
  7. Where Did Our Love Go
  8. Maybelline
  9. Hello Josephine
  10. Trying To Live My Life Without You

Cat: OV-420

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,