Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Bangles — Ladies And Gentlemen… The Bangles!

The Bangles — Ladies And Gentlemen… The Bangles!

The Bangles

Ladies And Gentlemen... The Bangles!

CD Release date: June 24, 2016

LP Release date: November 25, 2016


Earliest recordings of The Bangles, filling in critical first chapter of ’80s chart-toppers!

Hand-selected by the band members from their personal music archives, Ladies And Gentelmen… The Bangles! is a 16-track collection of remastered ’80s-era rarities, demos, live recordings and more, including The Bangles’ debut single and all of the tracks from their self-titled EP—produced by legendary Ramones/Blondie producer Craig Leon—unavailable since its initial release on vinyl in 1982.

Encompassing the very first years of the band’s development, from their earliest days as The Bangs to their incarnation as The Bangles, the tracks include performances by The Bangles’ founding and current members—Susanna Hoffs, Debbi Peterson, and Vicki Peterson—as well as now-retired bassist Michael Steele, and the band’s original bass player Annette Zilinskas.

“We’re so pleased to give our fans and music lovers alike the chance to enjoy the early fruits of our labor. Some of these tracks have never seen the light of day,” states Bangles drummer/singer Debbi Peterson. “We’ve wanted to make these songs available to a new audience for a long time,” adds singer/guitarist Vicki Peterson. “We’ve thrown in a couple of live tracks, and even some of the first demos, all lovingly collected and re-mastered, so you no longer have to dig out a cassette player to hear them.” Singer/guitarist Susanna Hoffs continues, “I feel a very special connection to our early recordings. The garage of my parents’ house was our musical laboratory, and we took all the flavors of our favorite bands and mixed up a concoction of jangly guitars, McCartney-inspired bass parts, grooves powered by punk energy, and harmonies galore! These songs and recordings were our musical manifesto—all that mattered and inspired us, fueled by youthful energy, hope and blind ambition.”

Previously available as a download-only, Omnivore Recordings is proud to offer this compilation, many tracks available for the first time on CD, in partnership with the band. Ladies And Gentlemen… The Bangles!


    CD / LP Track List:

  1. Bitchen Summer/Speedway
  2. Getting Out Of Hand
  3. Call On Me
  4. The Real World
  5. I’m In Line
  6. Want You
  7. Mary Street
  8. How Is The Air Up There?
  9. Outside Chance (Demo Version)
  10. Steppin’ Out (Demo Version)
  11. The Real World (Demo Version)
  12. Call On Me (Demo Version)
  13. Tell Me (Live)
  14. 7 & 7 Is (Live)
  15. No Mag Commercial
  16. The Rock & Roll Alternative Program Theme Song

Cat: OV-182

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,