Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Long Ryders — Psychedelic Country Soul

The Long Ryders — Psychedelic Country Soul

The Long Ryders

Psychedelic Country Soul

Release date: February 15, 2019


The first new studio album from the founders of Alt-Country since 1987.

The Long Ryders, founders of alt-country in the 1980s, saddle up for the first time in thirty years with their biggest and best slice of Americana yet, the aptly named Psychedelic Country Soul. The album was produced by Ed Stasium (Ramones, Belinda Carlisle, The Smithereens) and features a eleven Ryder originals and a cover of their friend Tom Petty’s great song, “Walls.”

Recorded in Los Angeles at Dr. Dre’s studio, Psychedelic Country Soul is, in Long Ryder Sid Griffin’s own words, “the album we were always trying to make… each flavor which made the band unique is there be it C&W, rock ’n’ roll, troubadour folk music, raw R&B, or out-there psychedelia.” The Long Ryders (Griffin, ex-Jayhawk Stephen McCarthy, song publisher Greg Sowders and NASA veteran Tom Stevens) are supplemented on the album by old friends The Bangles on harmony vocals and stellar sideman Dave Perlman (Everly Bros. Hoyt Axton) on pedal steel guitar.

Yet, ultimately the album is The Long Ryders. With Griffin’s familiar electric 12-string guitar, McCarthy’s virtuoso Clarence White licks, Tom Stevens earthy bass and Greg Sowders swingin’ drums, Psychedelic Country Soul is an album for 2019 made with the flavors of yesterday which has the sound and the spirit of tomorrow. Get ready for the ryde of your life.


    CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Greenville
  2. Let It Fly
  3. Molly Somebody
  4. All Aboard
  5. Gonna Make It Real
  6. If You Want To See Me Cry
  7. What The Eagle Sees
  8. California State Line
  9. The Sound
  10. Walls
  11. Bells Of August
  12. Psychedelic Country Soul

Cat: OV-326

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,