Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Derrick Anderson — A World Of My Own

Derrick Anderson — A World Of My Own

Derrick Anderson

A World Of My Own

Release date: April 7, 2017


L.A. music scene veteran steps out with his first solo album!

Before touring with Dave Davies (The Kinks) and becoming bassist for The Bangles in 2008, Derrick Anderson (with The Andersons!) romped throughout Los Angeles from 1995-2004 flashing an energized, cheeky brand of pop/rock. But finally, it’s time for Derrick to arrive as a solo artist.

A World Of My Own draws inspiration from the Cavern Club, Brill Building and Laurel Canyon, and the album’s 13 songs feature guest performances from an array of kindred spirits. A World Of My Own opens with the upbeat “Send Me Down A Sign” and heavy-hitting “Waiting For You,” which feature backing by The Smithereens (Pat Dinizio, Jim Babjak, Dennis Diken, and Severo Jornacion). The sonic punch of “Waiting For You” is heightened by a panoramic mix from producer Ed Stasium. Renowned for his work with Ramones, The Smithereens and Talking Heads, Stasium mixed two additional tracks on A World Of My Own: the party-driven “Stop Messin’ About” and a wild-and-woolly cover of The Beatles’ “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown).”

“Happiness” features stinging guitar lines by Matthew Sweet, while “A Mother’s Love” showcases incomparably lush vocals by Bob, John, and Susan Cowsill. “When I Was Your Man” combines The Bangles’ guitarist Vicki Peterson and drummer Debbi Peterson with Kim Shattuck (The Muffs, The Pandoras) on guitar and vocals. The Bangles’ Susanna Hoffs joins the Peterson sisters for backing vocals on two other songs: “Something New” and “Spring”—the latter also reunites him with The Andersons!: guitarists Robbie Rist-Anderson and Wil O’Brien-Anderson, and drummer Marc Joseph-Anderson.

With a chance to share the entire range of his talents in his debut, full-length album, and the help of the great friends in his extended musical “orbit,” Anderson invites you to extend your landing gear, scan the horizon and explore A World Of My Own.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Send Me Down A Sign
  2. Waiting For You
  3. You Don’t Have To Hurt No More
  4. Something New
  5. Phyllis & Sharon
  6. Happiness
  7. Checking Out
  8. A Mother’s Love
  9. My Prediction
  10. Stop Messin’ About
  11. When I Was Your Man
  12. Spring
    Bonus Track:

  1. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)

Cat: OV-215

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,