Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Rave-Ups — Town + Country

The Rave-Ups — Town + Country

The Rave-Ups

Town + Country

Release date: July 8, 2016


Americana pioneers’ debut—reissued and expanded!

While the members of The Rave-Ups held day jobs in the mailroom at A&M Records, they were able to use the label’s studios at night and during lunch breaks to record what would become a genre-defining release. Enlisting the help of producer Stephen Barncard (Grateful Dead’s American Beauty) as well as the legendary pedal-steel player Sneaky Pete Kleinow, the band released Town + Country in 1985.

The album gained enough attention to get the band featured in John Hughes’ classic 1986 film, Pretty In Pink. Sadly, their “Positively Lost Me” didn’t make the soundtrack, and the Fun Stuff Records issued Town + Country fell out of print. Fans of the band (and the film) have been searching for it ever since. Three decades later, it’s finally available again.

This reissue of Town + Country features the original 10 songs, plus a whopping 11 previously unissued bonus tracks—including live radio performances recorded for Deirdre O’Donoghue’s influential Snap program on Los Angeles’ legendary KCRW-FM, as well as 1986 material produced by Steve Berlin (Los Lobos) and Mark Linett. A detailed historical essay from the band’s Jimmer Podrasky, complemented by numerous unseen photos from the sessions/era, make this not only a document of time + place, but one that helps document a moment in musical history.

Town + Country has been gone for far too long. Now, fans can positively find it!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Positively Lost Me
  2. Remember (Newman’s Lovesong)
  3. Better World
  4. Class Tramp
  5. In My Gremlin
  6. Radio
  7. By The Way
  8. Not Where You’re At (But Where You Will Be)
  9. You Ain’t Goin Nowhere
  10. Rave-Up/Shut-Up
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

  1. If I Had A Hammer (The Hammer Song) (Fun Stuff Demo)
  2. Nine Pound Hammer (Live on Snap)
  3. Positively Lost Me (Live on Snap)
  4. Square Hole
  5. Train To Nowhere (Early Version)
  6. The Rumor
  7. Please Take Her (She’s Mine) (Early Version)
  8. Mickey Of Alphabet City (Early Version)
  9. No No No
  10. See You
  11. Blue Carrot (Early Version)

Cat: OV-183

Categories: , , , ,