Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Maynard Ferguson — The Complete High Voltage

Maynard Ferguson — The Complete High Voltage

Maynard Ferguson

The Complete High Voltage

Release date: July 15, 2016


First compete collection of the High Voltage recordings sessions.

Hot off the heels of Body & Soul, his self-proclaimed “best album in years,” Maynard Ferguson took a severe left turn and re-invented himself in 1987 with High Voltage. By greatly reducing the members of his musical ensemble and creating work within the small-group context, Ferguson once again pushed the boundaries of his genre. Maynard, never one to rest on his laurels, was always experimenting and in the same quality that took Miles Davis from Bebop to Bitches Brew, or Joe Zawinul and Wayne Shorter’s decision to create Weather Report, Ferguson was playing outside the box.

Omnivore Recordings, in conjunction with the Maynard Ferguson trust, is once again happy to delve deep into the catalog of this truly legendary jazz great. For the first time in nearly thirty years, all of the recordings that made up High Voltage and High Voltage 2 are compiled together with two previously unissued bonus tracks. With liner notes by Ferguson’s co-producer Jim Exon, Complete High Voltage is now a fully realized collection… a complete document of the small-group sound that Ferguson created during this time. Of course, the smaller the band, the bigger the sound and this 2-CD set delivers. Plug in, turn up and enjoy a different Maynard Ferguson experience!


    2-CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Jack Usage
  2. Sunday Morning
  3. High Voltage
  4. Stardust
  5. Marketplace
  6. Walkin’ On The Pier
  7. Snap
  8. Shufflemonk
    Disc 2:

  1. Omaha
  2. Whatcha Thinkin’
  3. Star Eyes
  4. Till Then
  5. Zihuatanejo
  6. Nightgown
  7. Get Off The Bus
  8. King Kan
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

  1. To Say The Least
  2. O Sole Mio

Cat: OV-185

Categories: , , ,