Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steve Wynn – Sketches In Spain

Steve Wynn – Sketches In Spain

Steve Wynn

Sketches In Spain

Release date: July 1, 2014


Recordings finally available worldwide!

Don’t think of this music as a ‘reissue’—because it’s not a lost classic that got ignored the first time around. For most of you, these are “new” (to your ears) recordings and should be treated as such.

Steve Wynn (The Dream Syndicate) has been recording steadily for decades since his emergence in the 1980s. Unfortunately, not all of those recordings have been available on these shores

Before the millennium, Steve worked with the band Australian Blonde in Spain, recording an album titled Momento. He met producer Paco Loco, and a bond was formed. He would return a few years later and form a band with Loco and his wife, Linda Pitmon, who recorded a record as Smack Dab. Together, they all created incredible music, but music only available in Spain—the country where they were recorded.

While the music retains the dynamic energy of Wynn’s classic rock albums, these sessions find Wynn swapping his Americana roots for a more creative, Euro-pop vibe. Rarely has Wynn’s music sounded so playful!

Omnivore Recordings is proud to present 19 tracks from those two releases on Sketches In Spain, a look and listen into Wynn’s expansive and essential catalog, finally reaching a worldwide audience.

From originals to covers of Three Dog Night’s “Never Been To Spain” and Los Bravos’ “Black Is Black”, these recordings are the perfect evolution and compliment to The Dream Syndicate’s work on their classic albums, including Omnivore’s critically acclaimed reissue of The Day Before Wine And Roses.

Nineteen “new” songs from Wynn in a new package including liners from set curator Pat Thomas and Wynn himself, this is a release fans have been waiting for.

Ready for an introduction to new shores, Sketches In Spain not only references another important release via its title, but takes people into another world and culture. Music. The universal language.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. I’m Not Listening
  2. Quarantine
  3. Super 8
  4. Free Love
  5. My Cross To Bear
  6. Kickstart My Jackknife
  7. The Hollywood Sign
  8. Smack Dab
  9. Never Been To Spain
  10. Lavender Foam
  11. Suddenly
  12. The King Of Riverside Park
  13. The Last One Standing
  14. Underneath The Radar
  15. On The Town
  16. OTB
  17. Black Is Black
  18. Claro Que Si
  19. Sometime Before I Die

Cat: OV-81

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,