Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Iain Matthews & Egbert Deríx — In The Now

Iain Matthews & Egbert Deríx — In The Now

Iain Matthews & Egbert Deríx

In The Now

Release date: June 17, 2014


Originally released in 2011, In The Now is a collaborative work with Dutch pianist Egbert Deríx, who also co-wrote eight of the tracks on the critically acclaimed The Art Of Obscurity.

A master of many genres, Matthews’ storied career has seen him with the original line-up of Fairport Convention, Matthews Southern Comfort (“Woodstock”—a #23 single in 1971) and hitting #13 with his solo hit “Shake It” in 1978. For these releases, he raises that bar, with his distinctive vocals gliding over a jazz backing provided by Deríx and the Searing Quartet.

In The Now combines Deríx’s keyboards, plus saxophone, upright bass, drums, guitar and a string section, moving effortlessly from the plaintive “Restless” to the epic 8½ minute “Be Small.” A 24-page, full-color booklet contains photos and lyrics, as well as liners from Ian Clayton, whose book Bringing It All Back Home was described by Record Collector as “One of the best books about popular music ever written.”

After his globally lauded performance in the Gene Clark No Other shows, Iain will be performing across the U.S. throughout 2014, and his profile has reached new highs. As audiences revel in his live dates, In The Now is ripe for discovery on these shores.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Buddha Dials Your Number
  2. Jewel Of Illusion
  3. When The Floyd Were On The Prowl
  4. Restless Wings
  5. Monkisms
  6. Pebbles In The Road
  7. Joy Mining
  8. Be Small
  9. Gone Is Gone

Cat: OV-91

Categories: , , , ,