Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Iain Matthews & Searing Quartet — Joy Mining

Iain Matthews & Searing Quartet — Joy Mining

Iain Matthews & Searing Quartet

Joy Mining

Release date: June 17, 2014


Originally released in 2008 Joy Mining is a collaborative work with Dutch pianist Egbert Deríx and Searing Quartet.

A master of many genres, Matthews’ storied career has seen him with the original line-up of Fairport Convention, Matthews Southern Comfort (“Woodstock”—a #23 single in 1971) and hitting #13 with his solo hit “Shake It” in 1978. For these releases, he raises that bar, with his distinctive vocals gliding over a jazz backing provided by Deríx and the Searing Quartet.

Joy Mining’s packaging features a 12-page full-color booklet with photos and lyrics. But, more importantly, takes the listener on a journey they may not have expected. This unique collaboration marries sharp songwriting and intricate arrangements featuring Deríx’s keyboards, saxophone, upright bass and drums across its twelve tracks.

After his globally lauded performance in the Gene Clark No Other shows, Iain will be performing across the U.S. throughout 2014, and his profile has reached new highs. As audiences revel in his live dates, Joy Mining is ripe for discovery on these shores.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. St. Theresa’s Ghost
  2. In Spite Of Myself
  3. Fishing
  4. My Town
  5. Randolph Scott
  6. God’s Eye View
  7. Waves
  8. Reservoir
  9. The Solid Stuff
  10. Another Night In Paradise
  11. Shakespeare’s Typewriter
  12. 1944

Cat: OV-90

Categories: , , , ,