Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Iain Matthews — The Art Of Obscurity

Iain Matthews — The Art Of Obscurity

Iain Matthews

The Art Of Obscurity

Release date: January 28, 2014


The original voice of Fairport Convention, Matthews Southern Comfort and Plainsong!


“The realization that The Art of Obscurity is my 25th solo album, prompted me to do some deep thinking about where I am, where I’m going and what I still want to achieve from this life in music. In my heart I feel vital and passionate about the creative process and that my best work is the next one I finish. It doesn’t necessarily work out that clean, but for me, it can be the only touchstone.”

—Iain Matthews


While probably best remembered in the United States for his 1978 smash “Shake It” (#13 Billboard Pop Singles), Iain Matthews has been a worldwide music icon for over 45 years. Whether as a founding member of Fairport Convention, Matthews Southern Comfort (who hit #23 with their cover of Joni Mitchell’s “Woodstock” in 1971), Plainsong or as a solo artist, Matthews has taken listeners on a journey with each recording.

Welcome to The Art of Obscurity, Iain Matthews’ first new release in his staggering fifth decade of recording and performing music, and his first American album in 15 years. Recorded in his adopted home of Austin, Texas with producer Bradley Kopp (Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely, and Tish Hinajosa), this 12 track release highlights Matthews’ knack for acoustic folk with jazzy undertones—capped off by his rich singing voice and reflective and insightful lyrics.

Matthews declares that The Art of Obscurity “absolutely sits up there with my four, or five finest recorded moments.” In his liner notes, he states “The Art of Obscurity will be my last solo album. It will however, not be my final recording. Music is in my blood. Music motivates me. Music is my mistress.”

While we hope Iain reconsiders, if not—he has left us with a glistening gem in his crown of musical achievements. While “obscurity” translates as “the state of being unknown,” The Art of Obscurity will put you in a state of bliss.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Ghost Changes
  2. When I Was A Boy
  3. Music
  4. Time Zone Cowboy
  5. Ash In The Wind
  6. The Letter (1944)
  7. In Paradise
  8. Ode For Jackie Paris
  9. The Emperor’s New Clothes
  10. Pebbles In The Road
  11. The Sweet Hereafter
  12. Home (Pt. 2)

Cat: OV-35

Categories: , , , ,