Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Lone Justice — This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes, 1983

Lone Justice — This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes, 1983

Lone Justice

This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes, 1983

Release date: January 14, 2014


12 tracks of prime Lone Justice recorded in 1983 with 9 previously unissued performances!

It can be difficult to capture the live power of a band on a studio recording. Thankfully, Lone Justice (Maria McKee, Ryan Hedgecock, Marvin Etzioni, and Don Heffington) went into Suite 16 Studios in December of 1983 and laid down much of the set list they were packing Los Angeles area clubs with.

Recorded direct to 2-track tape by engineer David Vaught and with no overdubs, those twelve tracks can finally be heard in their entirety as This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes, 1983. As Billboard’s Chris Morris writes in his liner notes, the release “offers the best representation of the band in its infancy—hot, full of piss and vinegar, and ready to take on the world.”

Nine of these twelve tracks are previously unissued, and include originals (including “Soap, Soup And Salvation”, which would appear on their Geffen debut two years later) to the covers they made their own in concert (Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash’s “Jackson” and “Nothing Can Stop My Loving You,” written by George Jones and Roger Miller.)

Available on CD and LP, in addition to Morris’ liners, the package contains an essay from the band’s Ryan Hedgecock, as well as a remembrance of David Vaught from Marvin Etzioni and a loving endorsement from Dolly Parton. With unseen photos and memorabilia, this collection is what Lone Justice fans have been waiting for. This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes, 1983 takes us back to a time when music had an energy that was hard to contain. Thanks to that studio in Van Nuys, CA, and this release, Justice has been served!


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Nothing Can Stop Me Loving You
  2. Jackson
  3. Soap, Soup And Salvation
  4. The Grapes Of Wrath
  5. Dustbowl Depression Time
  6. Rattlesnake Mama*
  7. Vigilante
  8. Working Man’s Blues*
  9. Cactus Rose
  10. When Love Comes Home To Stay
  11. Cotton Belt
  12. This World Is Not My Home*
    All tracks previously unissued except *

Cat: OV-77

Categories: , , , , , ,