Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steve Wynn — Dazzling Display

Steve Wynn — Dazzling Display

Steve Wynn

Dazzling Display

Release date: April 27, 2018


Second solo album from founding member of The Dream Syndicate, remastered and expanded with 6 bonus tracks.


I’ve had the chance to revisit Dazzling Display in the course of writing these liner notes and putting together this reissue and, as is often the case, time has brought its merits into focus. Here’s the bottom line. It’s a really fun record. It was made with a fan’s enthusiasm as a reflection of the things that made me happy and got me excited in 1991. It may not have been the right record for its time and it may not have been the right record for this particular recording artist. But it sure feels good to listen to it now.
And in 2018, that’s what matters most of all. Enjoy. It truly is a dazzling display.

—Steve Wynn (from his liner notes)


Dream Syndicate co-founder Steve Wynn followed up his acclaimed 1990 debut Kerosene Man in 1992 with Dazzling Display. This was another star-studded affair, featuring contributions from Peter Buck (R.E.M.), Vicki Peterson (The Bangles), Flo & Eddie, and many more. The album’s “Drag” made the rotations on MTV, and “Tuesday” became a hit internationally.

Nearly two decades later, Dazzling Display’s original playlist is joined by 6 rare bonus tracks, which include covers of tracks originally recorded by Sonic Youth and Paul Simon.

Fully overseen by Wynn himself (who also contributes new liner notes), this is the ultimate way to experience this Dazzling Display.


    CD Track List:

  1. Drag
  2. Tuesday
  3. When She Comes Around
  4. A Dazzling Display
  5. Halo
  6. Dandy In Disguise
  7. Grace
  8. As It Should Be
  9. Bonnie And Clyde
  10. 405
  11. Close Your Eyes
  12. Light Of Hope
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Kool Thing (Recorded at “The Melkweg” for Radio VPRO, Amsterdam)
  2. Boy In The Bubble
  3. Conspiracy Of The Heart (Recorded at the Mary Costello Show for Radio GLR, London)
  4. Watching The River Flow (Recorded at KCRW)
  5. Crazy Feeling (Recorded at KCRW)
  6. The Long Goodbye (Live at the 9:30 Club)

Cat: OV-272

Categories: , , ,

Tags: ,