Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Cowsills — Rhythm Of The World

The Cowsills — Rhythm Of The World

The Cowsills

Rhythm Of The World

CD / Digital release date: September 30, 2022

LP release date: April 22, 2023 for Record Store Day


First new music from the band in nearly 30 years, includes 11 brand new songs written by the band.

Some of the best music made in the last 60 years has been delivered by musical families. Think about it… The Everly Brothers, The Beach Boys, Bee Gees, The Jackson 5, The Staple Singers, Pointer Sisters, Kings Of Leon, Oasis… and The Cowsills!

Starting in 1965, The Cowsills was composed of six siblings, performing their instruments and singing those glorious harmonies as only families can. Originally starting as a regional act (from Newport, Rhode Island), the group was “founded” by Joda Records owners Danny Sims and reggae/pop singer Johnny Nash (“I Can See Clearly Now”) in the mid-’60s for whom they recorded a handful of singles before turning towards more national recognition when they were signed to MGM Records in 1967. At this point, the group’s mother Barbara and young sister Susan joined the act and they were awarded a Gold record for over one million copies sold of their very first single for MGM, the sublime, “The Rain, The Park & Other Things.” This began a series of chart records that dominated the Top 40 for the next three years. Among the classic Cowsills recordings are “We Can Fly,” “Indian Lake,” “Hair” (from the rock musical Hair), and “Love American Style” (the theme song from the popular ABC-TV show of the same name). The group also recorded and charted with five successful albums during this time period. The band and their story were even the inspiration for the popular 1970s sitcom The Partridge Family. The group was also a prosperous touring attraction up through 1972, spreading their harmonious hope and love to an adoring fan base. They even had their own comic book published in 1968.

As all families do, the group went through a series of changes, disbanding in 1972. But music never left the soul of this tuneful and melodic kin. Over the years, the group, as individuals, continued to make music and even reunited in 1978 and 1993 to make historic records that are woefully out of print.

Now, nearly 30 years after their last recordings as a group, The Cowsills are returning with new music for the new world! Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of Rhythm Of The World. Eleven brand new songs written by the band. The ambassadors of goodwill and love will be on the road through 2023 thrilling fans with their classic hits and soon to be new favorites!


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Ya Gotta Get Up!
  2. Lend A Hand
  3. Hawks On The Line
  4. Every Little Secret
  5. Nuclear Winter
  6. Rhythm Of The World
  7. Largo Nights
  8. Goodbye’s Not Forever
  9. The Long Run
  10. Try To Believe It Too
  11. Katrina

Cat: OV-503

Categories: , , ,

Tags: ,