Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

New Riders Of The Purple Sage — Lyceum ‘72

New Riders Of The Purple Sage — Lyceum ‘72

New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Lyceum '72

CD / Digital release date: September 23, 2022

3-LP release date: April 22, 2023 for Record Store Day


Previously unissued opening set from the last night of the Grateful Dead’s 1972 European tour.

“The last night of the Grateful Dead’s 1972 European tour was memorable for a host of reasons, and prime amongst them, was the fun fact that the whole extended musical “family” of the Grateful Dead was reunited at the London gig in the Lyceum Ballroom just off the Strand.”

So begins Grateful Dead Tour Manager Sam Cutler’s liners to this piece of exceptional music history. New Riders of the Purple Sage emerged as a band showcasing the songwriting of John Dawson and pedal steel guitar musings of Jerry Garcia, and their original line-up included Garcia and the Dead’s Mickey Hart on drums.

While the Dead’s material from that tour has been issued on their recent Europe ’72 and Lyceum ’72 releases, the New Riders Of The Purple Sage Lyceum ’72 documents the last night of the New Riders appearances with them on those classic dates.

Recorded on a 16-track machine by noted Dead engineers Betty Cantor, Janet Furman, Bob Matthews, Rosie (McGee), and Wizard (the team which also recorded the Dead’s classic Europe ’72 performances), these tapes were mixed by current Grateful Dead engineer Jeffrey Norman and mastered by Grammy®-winner David Glasser to present the ultimate document of this iconic date.

Produced for Release by Rob Bleetstein (NRPS archivist and Sirius/XM producer and host on their Grateful Dead Channel), Lyceum ’72 is available on CD and Digital with packaging containing photos and a thoughtful reminiscence from Sam Cutler, tour manager for The Rolling Stones, the Grateful Dead, and—of course, New Riders of the Purple Sage.

Take a trip back five decades to the end of a tour that lives on, all these years later.


    CD / 3-LP Digital Track List:

  1. Leaving On Her Mind
  2. Whatcha Gonna Do
  3. Hello Mary Lou
  4. Lochinvar
  5. Truck Drivin’ Man
  6. Glendale Train
  7. California Day
  8. Duncan And Brady
  9. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music)
  10. I Don’t Need No Doctor
  11. Rainbow
  12. Connection
  13. Sailin’
  14. Dirty Business
  15. Last Lonely Eagle
  16. Louisiana Lady
  17. Honky Tonk Women
  18. Willie And The Hand Jive (LP-only bonus track]

Cat: OV-499

Categories: , , ,