Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Soul Asylum — While You Were Out

Soul Asylum — While You Were Out

Soul Asylum

While You Were Out

CD Release date: January 18, 2019


Buy CD $16.98

The band’s last raucous indie releases before signing to major label.

Soul Asylum were inheritor’s of the throne in the Minneapolis scene launched by The Replacements and Hüsker Dü. Soul Asylum stood out because of their smart, punky, hard rock songs and relentless work ethic. They made four records for hometown label Twin/Tone Records before moving on to the majors; first A&M, then Columbia, where they scored two platinum albums and won a Best Rock Song Grammy for “Runaway Train.”

While You Were Out was the band’s 3rd album and its 3rd release of 1986, following 2nd album Made To Be Broken and the cassette-only rarities compilation, Time’s Incinerator. It is considered by many to be their finest album.

Clam Dip & Other Delights was their parting release for Twin/Tone before signing to major label, A&M Records. As the liner notes say, “The band got to record a bunch of things that likely would never have made it to an album, raw and all over the map stylistically, but sounding vital even 30 years removed.”

Produced by Twin/Tone Records co-founder and Replacements manager, Peter Jesperson and Grammy®-winner, Cheryl Pawelski, these expanded reissues of Soul Asylum’s 3rd and EP collect rare outtakes and demos from this era, including seven bonus tracks as well as four completely unreleased songs. The packaging provides an array of never before seen photos, artwork, flyers and liner notes written by Jon Wurster of Superchunk fame.


    CD Track List:

  1. Freaks
  2. Carry On
  3. No Man’s Land
  4. Crashing Down
  5. The Judge
  6. Sun Don’t Shine
  7. Closer To The Stars
  8. Never Too Soon
  9. Miracle Mile
  10. Lap Of Luxury
  11. Passing Sad Daydream
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Take It To The Root (Jam Mix)
  2. Just Plain Evil
  3. Chains
  4. Secret No More
  5. Move Over
  6. P-9
  7. Juke Box Hero
  8. Artificial Heart
  9. Take It To The Root
  10. Saving Grace*
  11. Forever And A Day*
  12. There It Goes*
  13. Artificial Heart*
    * Previously unissued.

Notice: Soul Asylum – While You Were Out / Clam Dip & Other Delights CD
We are aware that some of the bonus tracks on the CD are out of order. If you would like to exchange your CD, please write to: customerservice@11spot.com, tell them you’d like an exchange and give them your address. Thank you!

Cat: OV-314.

Categories: , , , ,