Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Soul Asylum — Twin/Tone Extras

Soul Asylum — Twin/Tone Extras

Soul Asylum

Twin/Tone Extras

Release date: February 8, 2019


New compilation featuring tracks from early Soul Asylum (then known as Loud Fast Rules) and select bonus tracks from the Soul Asylum CD reissues.

Soul Asylum first hit the Minneapolis music scene in early 1981. Core members Dave Pirner, Dan Murphy, and Karl Mueller met at local punk rock shows. Coming up in the shadow of formidable bands like Hüsker Dü and The Replacements, show they were all big fans of, was daunting but, ultimately, it inspired them to make a name for themselves. Soul Asylum stood out immediately because of their work ethic and smart, punky hard rock sound. They made four records for hometown label, Twin/Tone Records, before moving on to the majors; first A&M, then Columbia where they scored two platinum albums and won a Best Rock Song Grammy® for “Runaway Train.”

This special compilation picks up select bonus tracks featured on the CD reissues of Soul Asylum’s Twin/Tone releases and is co-produced by Twin/Tone Records co-founder and Replacements manager, Peter Jesperson and Grammy®-winner and Omnivore Recordings co-founder, Cheryl Pawelski. This previously unissued, unique compilation reaches back for some of the earliest Soul Asylum recordings as Loud Fast Rules while also offering alternate versions of some well know songs. Twin/Tone Extras has been restored and mastered by Grammy®-award winning engineer, Michael Graves at Osiris Studio and cut by Chris Muth at Taloowa.


    LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Black And Blue (Demo) – Loud Fast Rules
  2. Cocktails (Demo) – Loud Fast Rules
  3. Propaganda – Loud Fast Rules
  4. Bad Moon Rising – Proud Crass Fools
  5. Happy – Proud Crass Fools
  6. Long Way Home
  7. Another World, Another Day (Alternate Version)
  8. Swingin’
    Side 2:

  1. Can’t Go Back (Alternate Version)
  2. Catch Me If You Can
  3. Song Of The Terrorist
  4. To Go There
  5. 20 Year Itch
  6. Lost In Your Face
  7. Ramblin’ Rose

Cat: OV-316

Categories: , , , ,