Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Terry Adams & Steve Ferguson — Louisville Sluggers

Terry Adams & Steve Ferguson — Louisville Sluggers

Terry Adams & Steve Ferguson

Louisville Sluggers

Release date: May 12, 2023


Expanded reissue of the 2006 release from co-founders of NRBQ with 4 previously unissued bonus tracks.

In 1967, Terry Adams and Steve Ferguson, two musicians from Louisville, Tennessee, formed the New Rhythm And Blues Quartet in Florida after playing together in earlier bands. From the release of their 1969, self-titled debut, NRBQ became not only one of the greatest genre-defying bands on the planet, but also a band whose live shows were as unpredictable as they were unparalleled in the joy they brought their audiences. Although Ferguson left the band in 1971, he was never far away—periodically showing up at gigs (much to the delight of fans), and playing with Adams on various releases keeping their musical friendship alive and well.

The pair got together in the mid 2000s to re-explore that kinship. They brought along NRBQ drummer Tom Ardolino, Terry’s brother Donn (of The Whole Wheat Horns, whose work is prevalent on many NRBQ releases), and some other friends. Donn says in the album’s liner notes, “No outside producers. No time constraints. No budget influences. Just Terry and Steve and friends.”

Louisville Sluggers appeared in 2006 to the delight of the NRBQ faithful. In addition to originals from both Adams and Ferguson, the friends also explored the music they loved: Thelonious Monk, Jimmie Rodgers, Louis Armstrong, Hank Williams, and more. No matter the writer or influence, Louisville Sluggers was totally inventive, and a whole lot of fun.

Now, Louisville Sluggers returns, with updated artwork (retaining Donn Adams original liner notes) and four previously unissued bonus tracks including recordings of “Turkey In The Straw” and Allen Toussaint’s “Java.” This reissue expands the wonder and merriment of Louisville Sluggers for the new and old generations of fans of NRBQ and beyond.


    CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Peanut Vendor
  2. Outer Space Boogie (Alternate Mix)
  3. Same Train
  4. Mule Skinner Blues (Take 1)
  5. Ichabod
  6. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone
  7. It’s Too Soon To Know
  8. Knucklehead
  9. Dutchess County Jail
  10. South Of The Orient
  11. Hi-Heel Sneakers
  12. Turkey In The Straw*
  13. Blue Monk
  14. Java*
  15. Duet For Cousins*
  16. Hey Good Lookin’
  17. Ichabod (Take 1)*
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-514

Categories: , , ,

Tags: , ,