Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Game Theory — Lolita Nation

Game Theory — Lolita Nation

Game Theory

Lolita Nation

Release date: February 5, 2016


The 1987 masterpiece—remastered and expanded!

When Game Theory emerged with their fourth full-length release in 1987, there was not only a new line-up of the band, but it took two LPs to capture all of the magic. Once again produced by Mitch Easter (R.E.M., Pavement, Let’s Active), Lolita Nation was the culmination of all that had come before, and pushed the boundaries farther than they had ever gone. Lolita Nation became their most critically acclaimed work—grabbing a Bay Area Music Award (BAMMY) nomination for Outstanding Independent Label Album in 1988. Revered for decades, and—sadly—out of print for many.

As Omnivore Recordings continues to reintroduce this seminal band to the masses, Lolita Nation now requires a second CD to collect alternate mixes, live recordings, and radio sessions. The original’s 27 tracks are joined by 21 bonus performances! In addition to the highly sought after 8 minute version of “Chardonnay” and alternate mixes of other album tracks, the bonus material features covers of David Bowie, The Modern Lovers, Sex Pistols, Elvis Costello, The Smiths, The Stooges, Joy Division, The Hollies, and Public Image Ltd. classics. Truly as eclectic and all-encompassing as Lolita Nation itself, and just as revolutionary.

Lolita Nation will be available on double CD, Digital and double LP (first pressing on translucent dark green vinyl, with black to follow). All formats feature new liner notes from Okkervil River’s Will Sheff, interviews with the band and original album contributors and previously unseen photos.

As the world reawakens to the incredible Game Theory, it is truly a new time and a new day. It’s time to return to Lolita Nation—if even for your first visit!


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Kenneth–What’s The Frequency?
  2. Not Because You Can
  3. Shard
  4. Go Ahead, You’re Dying To
  5. Dripping With Looks
  6. Exactly What We Don’t Want To Hear
  7. We Love You Carol And Alison
  8. The Waist And The Knees
  9. Nothing New
  10. The World’s Easiest Job
  11. Look Away
  12. Slip
  13. The Real Sheila
  14. Andy In Ten Years
  15. Watch Who You’re Calling Space Garbage Meteor Mouth • Pretty Green Card Shark
  16. Where They Have To Let You In
  17. Turn Me On Dead Man
  18. Mammoth Gardens
  19. Little Ivory
  20. Museum Of Hopelessness
  21. Toby Ornette
  22. All Clockwork And No Bodily Fluids Makes Hal A Dull Metal Humbert • In Heaven Every Elephant Baby Wants To Be So Full Of Sting • Paul Simon In The Park With Canticle • But You Can’t Pick Your Friends • Vaccuum Genesis • Defmacros • Howsometh • Ingdotime • Salengths • Omethingl • Etbfollow • Aafternoo • Ngetprese • Ntmomenti • Fthingswo • Ntalwaysb • Ethiswayt • Bcacausea • Bwasteaft • Ernoonwhe • Neqbmeret • Urnfromsh • Owlittleg • Reenplace • 27
  23. One More For Saint Michael
  24. Choose Between Two Sons
  25. Chardonnay
  26. Last Day That We’re Young
  27. Together Now, Very Minor
    Disc 2:

  1. Chardonnay (Long Version)
  2. Dripping With Looks (Rough Mix w/Alternate Vocal)
  3. One More For Saint Michael (Live)
  4. Carrie Anne (Live)
  5. The Waist And The Knees (Rehearsal Demo)
  6. Tiny Steps (Radio Session)
  7. We Love You Carol And Alison (Radio Session)
  8. Gimme Danger (Radio Session)
  9. Love Will Tear Us Apart (Live)
  10. Andy In Ten Years (Rough Mix w/Alternate Vocal)
  11. Candidate (Live)
  12. Little Ivory (Rehearsal Demo)
  13. These Things Take Time (Radio Session)
  14. Roadrunner (Live)
  15. One More For Saint Michael (Rough Mix w/Alternate Vocal)
  16. God Save The Queen (Radio Session)
  17. Drive-In Saturday (Radio Session)
  18. Public Image (Live)
  19. The Waist And The Knees (Rough Mix w/Alternate Vocal)
  20. Together Now, Very Minor (Radio Session)
  21. Choose Between Two Sons
    All tracks on Disc 2 previously unissued.
    LP consists of all tracks on Disc 1.

Cat: OV-136

Categories: , , , , ,