Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Tom Brumley And The Buckaroos — Steelin’ The Show

Tom Brumley And The Buckaroos — Steelin’ The Show

Tom Brumley And The Buckaroos

Steelin' The Show

Release date: December 14, 2018


Buck Owens’ masterful pedal steel guitarist, “Tender” Tom Brumley

There are many reasons Buck Owens and his Buckaroos were the hottest band in the world in the 1960s, but one is certainly Tom Brumley’s magically graceful touch on the pedal steel guitar. And as you’ll hear on this album, he’s also a fine Dobro picker.

Steelin’ The Show showcases Brumley’s skill and innovative playing by collecting 17 tracks from 9 releases from Buck and The Buckaroos, including “Together Again” that features Tom’s peerless solo—one of the most famous pedal steel guitar breaks ever recorded.

Not just a perfect primer for the uninitiated, but also a fantastic aural journey for fans—Steelin’ The Show features an introduction from Tom’s family Rolene, Tommy, Todd, and Tracie Brumley as well as photos from their personal family collection. Randy Poe, the co-writer of Buck’s acclaimed autobiography Buck ’Em, contributed liner notes.


“Buck always had great players, but Brumley was a true craftsman. He wasn’t flashy or self-indulgent. He always knew exactly what to play. His tone, his control, and his restraint were only matched by his pure jaw-dropping talent.”


—Scott B. Bomar
author, Grammy® nominee, and Bakersfield sound historian


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Tom Cattin’
  2. Steel Guitar Rag
  3. Bud’s Bounce
  4. The Neosho Waltz
  5. Steel Guitar Polka
  6. Seven Come Eleven
  7. Free And Easy
  8. Tom’s Waltz
  9. Apple Jack
  10. The Waltz Of The Roses
  11. Pedal Patter
  12. Tracie’s Waltz
  13. Runnin’ Short
  14. Highland Fling
  15. Moonlight On The Desert
  16. March Of The McGregor
  17. Together Again

Cat: OV-318

Categories: , , ,

Tags: , , ,