Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steve Young — Stars In The Southern Sky

Steve Young — Stars In The Southern Sky

Steve Young

Stars In The Southern Sky

Release date: August 2, 2024


• 3-CD/Digital set from the Country Rock/Outlaw Country/Americana pioneer featuring his iconic 1975 release Honky-Tonk Man, plus 34 previously unissued live performances (including his classic, “Seven Bridges Road”).


Singer/songwriter/instrumentalist Steve Young (1942-2016) was a pioneer of “country rock” and of “outlaw country,” two movements that transformed mainstream country music and impacted other genres of American popular music.

Several generations of artists—country music’s new traditionalists during the 1980s, alternative country acts in the 1990s, as well as those associated with Americana music in the current century—broadened their audiences by merging country music with elements of other music genres. All those musicians have been indebted to Young and such contemporaries as Gram Parsons and Gene Clark, who collectively demonstrated how to integrate country music with other music genres (rock, pop, folk, blues, R&B, bluegrass, and gospel).

Young, a Southerner, recorded more than a dozen distinctive albums, but none was more fully realized than his 1975 album Honky-Tonk Man. Recorded at the acclaimed Minneapolis studio Sound 80 and released by Mountain Railroad Records, a small independent label based in the Upper Midwest, Honky-Tonk Man documented the musical world of a complex if largely misunderstood artist during the peak of his powers.

Now, Honky-Tonk Man returns (also available in its original form on vinyl for the first time in three decades) as part of Stars In The Southern Sky—a 3-CD/Digital collection highlighting that monumental 1975 era. Packaged in a slipcase, featuring a 40-page booklet with rare photos and new liner notes from Honky-Tonk Man Producer Stephen Powers and Ted Olson (who both oversaw the set.) The whopping 47-track set contains Honky-Tonk Man, “Stanley And Henry” (Young’s collaboration with Jim Post from Post’s 1978 I Love My Life album) and 34 previously unissued live tracks including standards and original material including Young’s classic “Seven Bridges Road” (a 1980 hit for the Eagles using Iain Matthews’ Michael Nesmith produced version as a template, and also covered by Dolly Parton, Alan Jackson, Rita Coolidge and more.)

So, revisit the origins of Country Rock, Outlaw Country, and Americana. Sit back and enjoy the Stars In The Southern Sky!

    3-CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1 – Honky-Tonk Man:

  1. Honky-Tonk Man
  2. Brain Cloudy Blues
  3. Rock Salt & Nails
  4. Rockin’ Chair Money
  5. Ramblin’ Man
  6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  7. Traveling Kind
  8. Sally Goodin’
  9. Alabama Highway
  10. Vision Of A Child
  11. We’ve Been Together On This Earth Before
  12. The White Trash Song
  13. Stanley And Henry Jim Post with Steve Young [Bonus Track]
    Disc 2 – Steve Young Live:

  1. Long Way To Hollywood
  2. Ragtime Blue Guitar
  3. Seven Bridges Road
  4. Montgomery In The Rain
  5. Brain Cloudy Blues
  6. Lonesome, On’ry And Mean
  7. Ramblin’ Man
  8. Home Sweet Home Revisited
  9. One Woman Man
  10. No Place To Fall
  11. Drift Away
  12. Don’t Think Twice (It’s Alright)
  13. Gonna Find Me A Bluebird
  14. Hobo Blues
  15. Go To Sea No More
  16. Traveling Kind
  17. That’s Alright Mama
    Disc 3 – Steve Young Live:

  1. The White Trash Song
  2. Tobacco Road
  3. The Year That Clayton Delaney Died
  4. All Her Lovers Want To Be The Hero
  5. Corrina, Corrina
  6. Rock Salt & Nails
  7. Old Memories (Mean Nothing To Me)
  8. You Don’t Miss Your Water
  9. Love Please Come Home
  10. San Francisco Mabel Joy
  11. My Sweet Love Ain’t Around
  12. Alabama Highway
  13. Backslider’s Wine
  14. East Virginia
  15. Many Rivers
  16. We’ve Been Together On This Earth Before
  17. Midnight Rider
    All tracks on Discs 2 and 3 previously unissued

Cat: OV-554

Categories: , , , , ,