Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steve Young — Honky-Tonk Man

Steve Young — Honky-Tonk Man

Steve Young

Honky-Tonk Man

Release date: August 2, 2024


The original 11-track album from the Country Rock/Outlaw Country/Americana pioneer available on vinyl for the first time in three decades.


Singer/songwriter/instrumentalist Steve Young (1942-2016) was a pioneer of “country rock” and of “outlaw country,” two movements that transformed mainstream country music and impacted other genres of American popular music.

Several generations of artists—country music’s new traditionalists during the 1980s, alternative country acts in the 1990s, as well as those associated with Americana music in the current century—broadened their audiences by merging country music with elements of other music genres. All those musicians have been indebted to Young and such contemporaries as Gram Parsons and Gene Clark, who collectively demonstrated how to integrate country music with other music genres (rock, pop, folk, blues, R&B, bluegrass, and gospel).

Young, a Southerner, recorded more than a dozen distinctive albums, but none was more fully realized than his 1975 album Honky-Tonk Man. Recorded at the acclaimed Minneapolis studio Sound 80 and released by Mountain Railroad Records, a small independent label based in the Upper Midwest, Honky-Tonk Man documented the musical world of a complex if largely misunderstood artist during the peak of his powers.

Now, Honky-Tonk Man returns in its original form on vinyl for the first time in three decades, remastered and featuring its original cover art (also available as part of Stars In The Southern Sky—a 47-track, 3-CD/Digital collection highlighting that monumental 1975 era. Packaged in a slipcase, featuring a 40-page booklet with rare photos and new liner notes from Honky-Tonk Man Producer Stephen Powers and Ted Olson, who both oversaw both sets.)

Featuring originals and covers of Bob Wills, Hank Williams, The Band, and more, Honky-Tonk Man explores the origins of Country Rock, Outlaw Country, and Americana. Experience it in its original form.


    LP / Digital Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Honky-Tonk Man
  2. Brain Cloudy Blues
  3. Rock Salt & Nails
  4. Rockin’ Chair Money
  5. Ramblin’ Man
  6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
    Side 2:

  1. Traveling Kind
  2. Sally Goodin’
  3. Alabama Highway
  4. Vision Of A Child
  5. We’ve Been Together On This Earth Before
  6. The White Trash Song

Cat: OV-553

Categories: , , , , ,