Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Sneakers — Sneakers

Sneakers — Sneakers



Release date: September 25, 2015


Before The dB’s and Let’s Active, there was Sneakers!

Chris Stamey, an icon of indie pop, and friend Mitch Easter began to explore recording techniques in Winston-Salem, NC, during their youth. In 1976, Chris and his band, Sneakers (including drummer Will Rigby, with appearances from Easter), released a single on Stamey’s own Carnivorous Records. The sessions were engineered by Don Dixon, who would eventually produce bands like R.E.M. (with Easter) and The Smithereens. Stamey & Rigby would go on to form The dB’s and Easter would reappear in Let’s Active—but the Sneakers single remains vital in not only independent record history, but music in general.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to reissue this seminal 7″ single as an expanded CD—also available digitally. Sneakers’ original six tracks are joined by five bonus tracks, including a cover of The Grass Roots’ “Let’s Live For Today.” 9 of the tracks were available on Omnivore’s 2015 10″ vinyl reissue for Record Store Day/Black Friday, but this new version adds “Be My Ambulance,” which previously appeared on the 1978 collectable mini-album, In The Red and “Some Kinda Fool” from the out-of-print 1992 collection Racket.

Featuring photos and an essay from Scott Schinder, Sneakers will give people the opportunity to experience this genesis of jangle pop.

Fans of the ’80s indie scene will be beyond happy to add this release to their collection, and to experience the birth of the music they love. Whether to run to the record store or just to dance, everyone needs Sneakers.


    CD EP / Digital EP Track List:

  1. Ruby
  2. Condition Red
  3. Driving
  4. Love’s Like A Cuban Crisis
  5. On The Brink
  6. Let’s Live For Today
  7. Story Of A Girl
  8. Nonsequitur
  9. S’il Vous Plaît
  10. Be My Ambulance
  11. Some Kinda Fool

Cat: OV-151

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: , ,