Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Knack — Normal As The Next Guy

The Knack — Normal As The Next Guy

The Knack

Normal As The Next Guy

Release date: June 9, 2015


Their final studio album—reissued and expanded!

No one expected another album from The Knack. But, those who knew where to look were overjoyed with 2001’s Normal As The Next Guy. It’s safe to say that The Knack were never given their due as an album act. Normal As The Next Guy would ultimately serve as their final studio release—and it contained everything they’d worked on and perfected up to that point.

Touching on every genre they’d previously tackled, from the pop of “Disillusion Town” and “It’s Not Me,” to The Beach Boys-psychedelia of “The Man On The Beach” and a re-recording of Serious Fun’s should-have-been-huge “One Day At A Time” (which was climbing the charts as their then label folded), Normal As The Next Guy serves as a fitting bookend to where the band came from, and what they’d achieved. And, how musically powerfully they always were.

Supplemented with three of Doug Fieger’s songwriting demos, this expanded reissue presents the original’s 12 tracks in a new light, and helps extend the story started with Havin’ A Rave Up! Live In Los Angeles, 1978. Omnivore Recordings is proud to re-introduce this release, sadly under-valued at the time of its original release, but ready over a decade later to be presented to those who may have never had a chance to be Normal As The Next Guy…


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Les Girls
  2. Disillusion Town
  3. Girl I Never Lied To You
  4. Normal As The Next Guy
  5. Spiritual Pursuit
  6. It’s Not Me
  7. One Day At A Time
  8. Seven Days Of Heaven
  9. Dance Of Romance
  10. Reason To Live
  11. A World Of My Own
  12. The Man On The Beach
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Seven Days Of Heaven (Demo)*
  2. Spiritual Pursuit (Demo)*
  3. Reason To Live (Demo)*
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-125

Categories: , , , ,