Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Knack — Havin’ A Rave-Up! Live In Los Angeles, 1978

The Knack — Havin’ A Rave-Up! Live In Los Angeles, 1978

The Knack

Havin' A Rave-Up! Live In Los Angeles, 1978

Release date: May 22, 2012


A year before they were the biggest band in the world…

In 1978, radio and retail were engulfed in disco, and it seemed that the momentum wouldn’t stop.

The year’s number one single was “Night Fever” by the Bee Gees, and their younger brother, Andy Gibb, ruled that summer with his own “Shadow Dancing.” But, something else was happening in the clubs of Los Angeles. People were dancing, but to a different beat. By May of that year, Doug Fieger, Berton Averre, Prescott Niles and Bruce Gary decided to take their act public. Calling themselves The Knack, they first took the stage at, of all places, the infamous Whisky a Go-Go on the fabulous Sunset Strip. The date was June 1, 1978. What happened over the following months was that of legend. The Knack sold out clubs all over Los Angeles. Guests like Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Stephen Stills, Eddie Money and The Doors’ Ray Manzarek joined them on stage—and every record label in the country wanted to sign this phenomenon. The Knack’s appeal was a one-two punch; not only did they have great songs, but they were an amazingly tight live band.

The Knack’s legendary gigs during the summer of 1978 had fans packing the clubs and record labels throwing contracts at them. This release is a fantasy compilation of two of those performances; a trip back in time on a ribbon of acetate. For all of you who were not lucky enough to hear them live, raw and unsigned, this is your chance to experience the electric thrill of those days when The Knack was havin’ a rave-up.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Let Me Out
  2. Your Number Or Your Name
  3. Good Girls Don’t
  4. End Of The Game
  5. Here On This Lonely Night
  6. It’s Alright
  7. That’s What The Little Girls Do
  8. Evil Lies
  9. Come A Little Bit Closer
  10. Daughter Of The Law
  11. Art War
  12. (She’s So) Selfish
  13. My Sharona
  14. (Havin’ A) Rave-Up

Cat: OV-18

Categories: , , , , ,