Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Doris Troy — Another Look

Doris Troy — Another Look

Doris Troy

Another Look

Release date: March 15, 2024


Rare and unissued material from Mama Soul, many tracks making their CD/Digital debut, plus one previously unissued track.

Doris Troy took the music world by storm with her 1963 smash “Just One Look.” The Hollies, Anne Murray, and Linda Ronstadt would bring it back to the charts, and countless artists including Bryan Ferry, Count Basie, Klaus Nomi, and Harry Nilsson would later put their spin on it as well. In 1969, The Beatles signed her to their label, Apple Records, and an eponymous, star-studded album appeared later that year.

In 1976 & 1977, after albums for the Polydor and People labels, she released two singles on the Midland International label. The first contained the notation “from the forthcoming album Another Look,” complete with an assigned catalog number. However, an album never appeared. Near the end of that decade, she collaborated with British Ambassador of Soul David Nathan to record tracks, which finally made their way into the public ear in 2018—some on vinyl, some only available digitally.

Another Look collects these rare and hard to find tracks from the mid to late ’70s, and places them together to offer a definitive view of this period of Troy’s career. Containing both 7″ and 12″ versions of the Midland International material (most available again for the first time since their original release), this set collects another track only previously available on a UK compilation plus her material recorded with Nathan including one previously unissued recording.

With packaging containing informative liners from set co-Producer David Nathan, this collection proves just one look at Doris Troy is never enough. It is time for Another Look.

    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Can’t Hold On
  2. Another Look
  3. Lyin’ Eyes (Short Version)
  4. Give God Glory
  5. You Got Me Baby (1979 Disco Version)
  6. It’s All In The Game(1979 Disco Version)
  7. What’cha Gonna Do About It (1980 Version) – Doris Troy feat. Mystic Merlin
  8. Smilin’/Let Me Make Love To You (Medley) – Doris Troy with Vy Higginsen
  9. Lyin’ Eyes (Long Version)
  10. Can’t Hold On (12” Version)
  11. Another Look (12” Version)
  12. You Got Me Baby (Short Version)
  13. What’cha Gonna Do (Nefer Music 2018 Remix) – Doris Troy feat. Mystic Merlin

Cat: OV-537

Categories: , , , ,