Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Stylistics — Love Is Back In Style

The Stylistics — Love Is Back In Style

The Stylistics

Love Is Back In Style

Release date: March 8, 2024


1996 release containing the final recordings from the three original, hit-making members of The Stylistics

Philadelphia legends, The Stylistics were a preeminent vocal group throughout the 1970s notching hit after R&B hit with their trademark ballads. Their chart-topping prowess was only amplified when, 25 years after The Stylistics’ original hit, “Betcha By Golly Wow” was covered by Prince on his Emancipation album, introducing the classic song to a new generation of listeners.

After two decades of success, The Stylistics took a break from the studio to focus on their live show presentation and touring, but by the mid-’90s, they were ready to record again. Producer and songwriter Preston Glass had developed a relationship with Thom Bell, which after success with other artists (Stacy Lattisaw, Kenny G, Earth, Wind & Fire), led him directly to The Stylistics.


First released on producer Preston Glass’ Marathon Records in 1996, Love Is Back In Style brought the legendary soul masters well into that decade with an album that is the perfect marriage between the then-modern sounds of the 1990s and their classic ’70s hits. Love Is Back In Style carried a similar quality found in the great works The Stylistics gave fans in the 1970s, while under the tutelage of the iconic producer/composer/arranger/conductor Grammy®-winner Thom Bell. The album is also poignant, given that it was the last album recorded with three original Stylistics—Airrion Love, Herb Murrell, and longtime lead singer, Russell Thompkins Jr..

— From the liner notes by Kevin L. Goins


Featuring remastering by multiple Grammy®-winning engineer, Michael Graves and updated artwork containing informative liners from Kevin L. Goins, Love Is Back In Style rightfully takes its place in the canon of one of Philly soul’s greatest groups.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. I Once Had A Love
  2. She’s All That
  3. Shoulder
  4. Keeping You To Your Promise
  5. Right Face, Wrong Mind
  6. Have You Ever Been In Love?
  7. Go
  8. Where Do You Run
  9. Love Can Heal A Wounded Heart
  10. You Must Love Loneliness
  11. What You’re Goin’ Through
    Bonus Track:

  1. She’s All That (Remix)

Cat: OV-536

Categories: , , , ,