Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steve Goodman — Unfinished Business

Steve Goodman — Unfinished Business

Steve Goodman

Unfinished Business

Release date: August 9, 2019


Steve Goodman’s Grammy®-winning second posthumous release, with 9 bonus tracks—8 previous unissued

It’s difficult to think of a more appropriate title for singer/songwriter Steve Goodman’s second posthumous release.

Originally released in 1987, Unfinished Business was a collection of demos, outtakes, and unissued recordings lovingly compiled and curated by his longtime manager, confidant, and friend Al Bunetta. But, instead of playing like an “odds and sods” collection, it pulled together a group of songs that sounded like they always belonged together to create yet another brilliant album in the Goodman catalog. So much so, the release won the 1988 Grammy® for Best Contemporary Folk Album.

Luckily, the business isn’t unfinished. Unfinished Business returns in an expanded edition, with the original 10 track release plus 9 bonus tracks: 1 from his out of print 1994 anthology, No Big Surprise, and 8 previously unissued solo acoustic and full-band performances.

Packaging contains new liner notes from Lee Zimmerman featuring interviews and remembrances from family, band members, and friends. Released in conjunction with the Goodman estate, photos fill out the set which further showcases Goodman’s art, ability, and long-lasting impact.

Unfinished Business proves that Steve Goodman never wasted time, or wasted tape. With every song a gem, we get a deeper listen into the incomparable artist that was Steve Goodman.


    CD Track List:

  1. Whispering Man
  2. Mind Over Matter
  3. God Bless Our Mobile Home
  4. Millie Make Some Chili
  5. In Real LIfe
  6. (Now And Then There’s) A Fool Such As I
  7. Don’t Get Sand In It
  8. The Dutchman
  9. Colorado Christmas
  10. My Funny Valentine
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Don’t Get Sand In It (Solo Demo)*
  2. If She Were You (Solo Acoustic)
  3. Good Morning Blues (Solo Acoustic)*
  4. Kidstown U.S.A.*
  5. You’re The Girl I Love (Solo Acoustic)*
  6. Just Lucky I Guess (Solo Acoustic)*
  7. No One But You (Solo Acoustic)*
  8. Good Gang Express Theme*
  9. Ballad Of Flight 191 (They Know Everything About It)*
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-345

Categories: , , ,