Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Old 97’s — Too Far To Care

Old 97’s — Too Far To Care

Old 97's

Too Far To Care

Release date: October 9, 2012


15th Anniversary remastered of an Old 97’s classic!

When the Old 97’s got together in Dallas, Texas, in 1993, bands like The Jayhawks, Uncle Tupelo, Whiskeytown, and Drive-By Truckers were already picking up their guitars and makin’ records. Once enough of these sorts of bands started gracing clubs across the country, the folks who pay attention to musical trends started citing them collectively as an emerging movement. Critics called their music “alt-country” and praised bands like the Old 97’s for their attention to songwriting craft and sweaty rockin’ shows. Since then, the Old 97’s have made their way through nine albums, a few compilations, and numerous legendary live shows, all while maintaining their original line-up.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to celebrate the 15th Anniversary of Too Far To Care with a series of special editions. Produced by Wally Gagel (Folk Implosion, Sebadoh, etc.) and featuring guest artists, Jon Rauhouse and Exene Cervenka, Too Far To Care has become a classic of the alt-country genre. The 2-CD set includes the remastered original album plus four session outtakes on disc one and a second disc of original pre-album demos featuring some never-before-heard Old 97’s songs! Additionally, a 2-LP set of the original album, makes its vinyl debut, with the four session outtakes, which are also on disc one of the CD.

A second single-LP and digital album, called They Made A Monster: The Too Far To Care Demos, carries all the demos from disc two of the CD. The demos album is also available separately as a digital album.


    2-CD / LP Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Timebomb
  2. Barrier Reef
  3. Broadway
  4. Salome
  5. W. TX Teardrops
  6. Melt Show
  7. Streets Of Where I’m From
  8. Big Brown Eyes
  9. Just Like California
  10. Curtain Calls
  11. Niteclub
  12. House That Used To Be
  13. Four Leaf Clover
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Northern Line
  2. Beer Cans
  3. No Doubt About It
  4. Holy Cross
    Disc 2 – They Made A Monster: The Too Far To Care Demos:

  1. Broadway (Demo)
  2. Daybed (Demo)
  3. Barrier Reef (Demo)
  4. W. TX Teardrops (Demo)
  5. Nightclub (Demo)
  6. When I Crash (Demo)
  7. You Were Right (Demo)
  8. Sound Of Running (Demo)
  9. Everybody But Me (Demo)
  10. Holy Cross (Demo)
  11. The 1 (Demo)
    All tracks on Disc 2 previously unissued.
    LP consists of all tracks on Disc 1.

Cat: OV-45

Categories: , , , , ,