Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Three O’Clock — The Hidden World Revealed

The Three O’Clock — The Hidden World Revealed

The Three O'Clock

The Hidden World Revealed

Release date: June 25, 2013


Recorded between ’81 and ’86. From the band that founded L.A’s. “Paisley Underground.” Melodic psychedelic pop at its most sublime!

They called it “The Paisley Underground.” A 1980s, Southern California sound that mixed pure-pop sensibilities with psychedelic overtones, the term was coined by Michael Quercio, leader of one of that scene’s biggest bands, The Three O’Clock. The Three O’Clock eventually signed to I.R.S. Records and even made an LP for Prince’s Paisley Park imprint, but it is their early material that is not only adored, but which has never been properly compiled and re-introduced. Until now.

The Hidden World Revealed is a 20-track collection from the years 1981-1986. In addition to hits from their tenure on Frontier Records like “Jet Fighter” and “With A Cantaloupe Girlfriend,” the CD features rare singles, demos and alternate takes/mixes. It helps tell the story of where the band started (as The Salvation Army) and what they would achieve—recording for major labels and opening for bands like R.E.M. on national tours. It’s quite a trip.

A beautiful, four color booklet with photos and flyers, liner notes from Quercio and guitarist Louis Gutierrez, track-by-track commentary from drummer Danny Benair, and a whopping 10 previously unissued tracks, The Hidden World Revealed is an essential document of the origins of one the Paisley Underground’s greatest acts and a release Three O’Clock fans have been waiting for. With a reunion appearance at 2013’s Coachella festival and more live dates across the summer, the time is right for The Three O’Clock, The Hidden World Revealed. Don’t be late!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. All In Good Time
  2. With A Cantaloupe Girlfriend
  3. In Love In Too
  4. Stupid Einstein
  5. Lucifer Sam
  6. Rodney On The ROQ Commercial*
  7. Jet Fighter
  8. When Lightening Starts (Alternate Version)*
  9. Sound Surrounds (Demo)*
  10. Around The World
  11. On My Own (With Strings)*
  12. I Go Wild (Alternate Version)*
  13. In My Own Time (Alternate Version)*
  14. Why Cream Curdles In Orange Tea*
  15. A Day in Erotica (Alternate Version)*
  16. Jennifer Only (Home Demo)* – Salvation Army
  17. The Girl With The Guitar (Says Oh Yeah) (Demo)*
  18. Seeing Is Believing
  19. Regina Caeli
  20. Feel A Whole Lot Better
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-64

Categories: , , , , ,