Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Gladiators — Symbol Of Reality

Gladiators — Symbol Of Reality


Symbol Of Reality

CD / Digital Release date: April 20, 2018

LP Release date: January 17, 2020


Remastered, 1982 roots reggae classic, includes four previously unissued tracks.


“Dread is me culture, know wha’ I mean? Me could not a sing reggae music and really be a man that trim. Ha fe be a dread. When I say dread, a Rastaman, know wha’ I mean? I ha fe dread because every song that I sing is dread. The way I sing it is dread. Yeah, the music itself dread… Just I way deh. One o’ the humble, one o’ de meek, one o’ de cool, but very vicious when I deal with music… A real reggae singer ha fe be forceful. A forceful reg¬gae singer will always survive. Reggae music, man—it might look simple, but it naw so simple, you know. You ha fe ready and you ha fe ready with the punch. You ha fe ready to attack and very swift. You see a karate man punch a man, you know, and move again. Well it’s just same way reggae. You ha fe tense your body to sing reggae.”


—Albert Griffiths


Albert Griffiths founded the Gladiators in 1966 after some success on his own. The group scored their first hit, produced by legendary producer Coxsone Dodd, with “Hello Carol” in 1968. During the ’70s the Gladiators made their way through releases on labels like Studio One, Upsetter, Virgin, and Groovemaster. 1980 found the Gladiators working with producer, and pre-“Electric Avenue” hitmaker, Eddy Grant on the album Gladiators, which also featured members of the band Aswad lending a musical hand.

On 1982’s Symbol Of Reality, their first for the Nighthawk Records label, they revisited their own catalog of songs re-recording their classics, “Dreadlocks The Time Is Now” (appearing here as “Streets Of Gold”), “Watch Out” and “Big Boo Boo Deh” (returning retitled as “Cheater”) while also paying homage to The Wailers with covers “Small Axe” and “Stand Alone,” both written by Bob Marley.

This newly remastered CD of the album features the original ten tracks, the two bonus tracks that were added to the original 1997 Nighthawk CD reissue, “Symbol Version” and “Righteous Man Version,” plus four previously unissued tracks, “Streets Of Gold Version,” “Not Afraid To Fight Version,” “Symbol Of Reality Instrumental Dub” and “Streets Of Gold Instrumental Dub.” Original liner notes are also included. The reissue has been overseen by original Nighthawk Records’ producer Leroy Jodie Pierson and Grammy® Award-winning producer, Cheryl Pawelski, and has been remastered from the original tapes by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, Michael Graves. The remastered LP contains the original album’s track list with liner notes and a gatefold jacket.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Symbol Of Reality
  2. Symbol Version
  3. Small Axe
  4. Bumping And Boring
  5. Cheater
  6. Watch Out
  7. Mister Goose
  8. Streets Of Gold
  9. Streets Of Gold Vesion*
  10. Righteous Man
  11. Righteous Man Version
  12. Stand Alone
  13. Not Afraid To Fight
  14. Not Afraid To Fight Version*
  15. Symbol Of Reality Instrumental Dub*
  16. Streets Of Gold Instrumental Dub*
    * Previously unissued.


    LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Symbol Of Reality
  2. Small Axe
  3. Bumping And Boring
  4. Cheater
  5. Watch Out
    Side 2:

  1. Mister Goose
  2. Streets Of Gold
  3. Righteous Man
  4. Righteous Man Version
  5. Stand Alone
  6. Not Afraid To Fight

Cat: OV-273

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: ,