Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Finally Together: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume Three: 1966–1967

Finally Together: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume Three: 1966–1967

Various Artists

Finally Together: The Ru-Jac Records Story Volume Three: 1966–1967

Release date: February 2, 2018


First-ever audio history chronicling the Ru-Jac label with rare singles and previously unissued ’60s soul/R&B

The Baltimore soul/R&B label Ru-Jac Records was founded in 1963 by local promoter Rufus Mitchell and investor partner Jack Bennett (their names forming the Ru-Jac name). The label primarily released regional soul/R&B singles from 1963 until the mid 1970s, when Mitchell stepped away to focus on another business venture. Omnivore has already released single-artist packages by some of the label’s biggest names, including Winfield Parker – Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac (Parker also serves as the consulting producer for all of Omnivore’s Ru-Jac releases) and Gene & Eddie – True Enough: Gene & Eddie With Sir Joe At Ru-Jac.

In January, Omnivore will roll out two various artists volumes followed by two more in February, collecting for the very first time anywhere the audio history of Ru-Jac Records. Each volume is produced by the Grammy® Award-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski and Kevin Coombe, East Coast soul historian. Coombe provides liner notes detailing the rise and eventual closure of the label, and its close ties to the segregated beaches and performance spaces of the region. Rare photos and ephemera will be included in each volume to help illustrate and trace the history of the label. Utilizing original tapes, extremely collectible 45s, and acetates, all four volumes underwent extensive restoration and mastering by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, Michael Graves.

Volume Three, Finally Together: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume Three: 1966–1967 contains 25 tracks, 11 of them previously unissued. The other 14 tracks are derived from 45s issued by the label as Ru-Jac hit its stride, and includes songs by Rita Doryse, Kitty Lane, Gene & Eddie, and Sir Joe among others.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Wait Til Then – Rita Doryse (The Shyndells Band)
  2. When I’m Alone – Rita Doryse (The Shyndells Band)
  3. Please Let Me Love You – Rita Doryse & The Bob Craig Combo
  4. Goodie Goodie – Rita Doryse & The Bob Craig Combo
  5. Born To Be Loved – Rita Doryse*
  6. It’s Love I Need – Kitty Lane
  7. Sweetheart – Kitty Lane
  8. The Feeling Is Gone – Kitty Lane*
  9. Finally Together – unknown artist*
  10. Searching – unknown artist*
  11. Go Away Playgirl (Take 5) – Winfield Parker*
  12. I Would Cry – Gene & Eddie
  13. I Tell You – Gene & Eddie
  14. Sweet Little Girl – unknown artist*
  15. Sweet Little Girl – Winfield Parker with The Shyndells Band
  16. My Love (Demo With Background Vocals) – Winfield Parker*
  17. She’s My Girl (Demo) – Winfield Parker*
  18. Lightning (Part 1) – The Shyndells*
  19. Ooby Gooby – The Shyndells*
  20. Never Never Leave Me – unknown artist*
  21. Do The Roller – Leon Gibson
  22. Working Hard – Leon Gibson
  23. Nobody Beats My Love – Sir Joe
  24. I Can’t Stay Away – The Caressors
  25. Who Can It Be – The Caressors
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-256

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: , , , , , , , ,