Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Dom Flemons — Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

Dom Flemons — Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

Dom Flemons

Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

Release date: February 28, 2020


Expanded reissue of Grammy®-winner’s third solo release, contains first CD/Digital release of his vinyl-only 2015 EP.

Dom Flemons is known as “The American Songster.” The talented multi-instrumentalist was a member of the Grammy®-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops from their inception in 2005 through 2013, and has performed with artists including Guy Davis, Old Crow Medicine Show, and Taj Mahal.

His third solo album, Prospect Hill, was released in 2014 after Flemons spent “many days listening to vinyl records, 78s and CDs, discovering new genres of music in record stores all across the country and the world.” That seminal release returns in an incredible, expanded edition.

Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus is a 2-CD and Digital collection containing a three-part journey: the original album; the 2015 Record Store Day 9-track EP What Got Over (originally vinyl only, making its first appearance on CD/Digital); and a third section, The Drum Major Instinct, a set of 12 previously unissued instrumental tracks that “presents the vision of the Phoenix rising from the ashes, morphing into a butterfly, and seeing the world with a new set of eyes.”

With extensive liner notes from Flemons and his wife, Vania Kinard, matched by extraordinary photography from Timothy Duffy (whose works are in the permanent collections of the National Gallery of Art, National Museum of African American History and Culture, the New Orleans Museum of Art, among others), this new collection truly showcases Flemons’ artistry, talents, and dedication to deserving the moniker “The American Songster.”

So, take the journey, whether it’s your first time, or a return trip with new sights and sounds on Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus.


    2-CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1 – Part One: Prospect Hill:

  1. ’Til The Seas Run Dry
  2. Polly Put The Kettle On
  3. But They Got It Fixed Right On
  4. Have I Stayed Away Too Long?
  5. Georgia Drumbeat
  6. I Can’t Do It Anymore
  7. Sonoran Chruch Two-Step
  8. Too Long (I’ve Been Gone)
  9. Marching Up Prospect Hill
  10. It’s A Good Thing
  11. Grotto Beat
  12. Hot Chicken
  13. San Francisco Baby
  14. My Money Runs Out
    Disc 2 – Part Two: What Got Over:

  1. Big Head Joe’s March
  2. Milwaukee Blues
  3. Clock On The Wall
  4. Keep On Truckin’
  5. Hot Chicken (Alternate Version)
  6. Have I Stayed Away Too Long? (Alternate Version)
  7. Going Backward Up The Mountain
  8. ’Til The Seas Run Dry (Alternate Version)
  9. What Got Over
    Part Three: The Drum Major Instinct:

  1. Wingtips
  2. Going Backward Up The Mountain (Instrumental)
  3. Sugar Dance
  4. Grotto Beat (Instrumental)
  5. The Songster Arrives
  6. Georgia Drumbeat (Instrumental)
  7. Clock On The Wall (Instrumental)
  8. Hot Chicken (Instrumental)
  9. Too Long (I’ve Been Gone) (Instrumental)
  10. What Got Over (Instrumental)
  11. The Grand Manifesto
  12. Blue Butterfly
    Tracks 10–21 on Disc 2 previously unissued.

Cat: OV-364

Categories: , , ,