Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Camper Van Beethoven — Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart

Camper Van Beethoven — Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart

Camper Van Beethoven

Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart

Release date: February 11, 2014


25th Anniversary reissue on CD and 180-gram LP with 10 bonus tracks added to CD!

When indie superstars Camper Van Beethoven signed with Virgin Records in the late 1980s, it seemed inconceivable. How could that band move to a major label without “selling out” and sacrificing all that made them great?

The first three tracks on Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart were a pop song, an instrumental and an adaptation of a folk dirge about death. Heck, the release even had a love song for Patty Hearst. No, Camper Van Beethoven didn’t sell out. They just had better distribution now.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to take everyone back to 1988, when musical worlds collided and Camper Van Beethoven helped break the mold and blur the lines between indie rock and “alternative.” Suddenly, it was an even playing field and Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart found itself in the bins next to Chicago and Cinderella. Produced by Dennis Herring (Elvis Costello, Counting Crows), the 25th anniversary of this landmark album finds it reissued on CD with 10 bonus tracks—and on vinyl for the first time since its original issue.

Featuring new liners and photos in both the CD and LP, Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart is being reissued in tandem with its acclaimed follow up Key Lime Pie, with full cooperation and input from the band themselves. These are the releases CVB fans have been dreaming of.

It’s been a few years since the end of the 1980s, but Camper Van Beethoven has always been timeless. Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart proves that. It’s even spelled out in the title: beloved, revolutionary and a real sweetheart.


    CD Track List:

  1. Eye Of Fatima (Pt. 1)
  2. Eye Of Fatima (Pt. 2)
  3. O Death
  4. She Divines Water
  5. Devil Song
  6. One Of These Days
  7. Turqouise Jewelry
  8. Waka
  9. Change Your Mind
  10. My Path Belated
  11. Never Go Back
  12. The Fool
  13. Tania
  14. Life Is Grand
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Love Is A Weed
  2. Harmony In My Head
  3. Wade In The Water
  4. Eye Of Fatima (Pts. 1 & 2) (Edit)
  5. The Day That Lassie Went To The Moon (Live)*
  6. One Of These Days (Live)*
  7. Smash It Up (Live)*
  8. Seven Languages (Live)*
  9. Kodachrome (Live)*
  10. Hanging Around (Live)*
  11. Pope Festival
    * Previously unissued.
    LP consists of Tracks 1–14.

Cat: OV-69

Categories: , , , ,