Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Peter Rowan — My Aloha!

Peter Rowan — My Aloha!

Peter Rowan

My Aloha!

Release date: May 15, 2017


Folk-legend comes full circle to American music’s deep Hawaiian roots.

Americana icon Peter Rowan has had a storied career. Whether singing and playing guitar for Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Boys, opening for The Doors as part of Earth Opera (with David Grisman), having Sir George Martin produce his music while a member of Seatrain, performing with Jerry Garcia in Old & In The Way, writing “Panama Red” for the New Riders Of The Purple Sage or appearing on an Art Of Noise album, Rowan has been recording and entertaining for nearly 50 years—with no sign of stopping.

For the past couple years, when not touring the world, Peter Rowan could be found on the beaches and in the clubs of Hawaii, absorbing and adapting the sounds that filled the radio waves in the days of Jimmie Rodgers and Maybelle Carter to a brand new set of his own songs. My Aloha! demonstrates how Hawaiian steel guitar and ukulele were an influence on foundational bluegrass, folk, and country artists like Bill Monroe, even if the connection is not immediately obvious.

My Aloha! finds Peter returning to these Hawiaan roots, and bringing them into the present as only he can. Recorded in Honolulu, and accompanied by Douglas Po’oloa Toletino, Jeff Au Hoy, Kilin Reece, and Uncle Mike Souza, My Aloha! contains 11 originals, played with the heart and style of those who understand that musical labels and genres are only that—simple definitions. It is the music that moves us. Listeners may be shocked at how close the sounds we equate with our favorite styles of music aren’t as far apart as we might think, each influencing, and borrowing heavily from others.

With notes from Rowan and Reece, the journey is not only one of sound, but one that takes you into the heart of how interconnected the music of our world truly is. There’s a reason they’re called radio waves. So, dip your toes in the moving ocean of music, relax, and enjoy My Aloha!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. My Blue Hula Girl
  2. Jerry In The Deep Blue Sea
  3. Sunny At Sunrise
  4. Lotus Flower
  5. My Aloha (Appalachian Mountain Home)
  6. Tsuki-chan
  7. The Waltz Of Waikiki
  8. A Man Of Time And Tides
  9. Two Ships In The Night
  10. Uncle Jimmy
  11. Sunny At Sunrise (Reprise)

Cat: OV-219

Categories: , , , ,