Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Blind Boys Of Alabama — Higher Ground

The Blind Boys Of Alabama — Higher Ground

The Blind Boys Of Alabama

Higher Ground

Release date: May 13, 2016


The Blind Boys’ second consecutive Grammy®-winning release—expanded!

Post winning a Grammy® for Spirit Of The Century, and continuing to perform after being together for nearly 6 decades, you would think The Blind Boys Of Alabama would want to take a break. Thankfully, they didn’t.

Once again helmed by producers John Chelew and Chris Goldsmith, Higher Ground picked up where Spirit Of The Century had led, and moved even higher. Backed by Robert Randolph and The Family Band (with guest appearances from Ben Harper), new arrangements of traditional hymns were joined by songs from Harper, Curtis Mayfield, Funkadelic, Aretha Franklin, Jimmy Cliff, Prince and the classic title track by Stevie Wonder. The outcome was rewarded by The Blind Boy’s second consecutive Grammy® for Best Traditional Soul Gospel Album, as well as the album’s “I Shall Not Walk Alone” being featured on television’s Lost.

In addition to a new essay from Davin Seay, seven live performances of album tracks recorded for KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic have been resurrected and added, making Higher Ground even more exceptional.

Unavailable for years, this important release finally returns. You won’t need to keep on tryin’, you can reach Higher Ground again.


    CD / Digtial Track List:

  1. People Get Ready
  2. Spirit In The Dark
  3. Wade In The Water
  4. Stand By Me
  5. The Cross
  6. Many Rivers To Cross
  7. Higher Ground
  8. Freedom Road
  9. I May Not Can See
  10. You And Your Folks/23rd Paslm
  11. I Shall Not Walk Alone
  12. Precious Lord
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks
    Recorded Live on Morning Becomes Eclectic, KCRW (2002):

  1. Run On For A Long Time
  2. My Lord What A Morning
  3. Freedom Road
  4. Higher Ground
  5. People Get Ready
  6. Wade In The Water
  7. Amazing Grace

Cat: OV-179

Categories: , , , , ,