Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Posies — Failure

The Posies — Failure

The Posies


Release date: August 19, 2014


Contains 8 bonus tracks, including 1 available for the first time anywhere, The Posies’ 1988 debut is back and bigger than ever!.

Little did Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow know that when they dropped off their cassette to Scott McCaughey (R.E.M., The Minus 5), the clerk at their favorite record store (who happened to do A&R for the indie label PopLlama), that a power-pop dynasty would begin.

Originally released by the band on cassette, then issued on LP (with one track removed for the then-current time constraints), and later on CD, Failure set the independent music world on fire. Omnivore Recordings is proud to reissue this landmark album, complete with eight bonus tracks, including one available for the first time.

Housed in a digipak, Failure contains the original 12 songs, plus bonus material from the highly sought after and out of print 2000 box set At Least At Last, as well tracks from the Spanish only 15th anniversary edition—plus, one track recently located in The Posies’ extensive archives. The booklet contains press clippings and essays from 1988, as well as updated messages from McCaughey and the band.

This 2014 edition sees the original 12-track playlist restored and available on vinyl for the first time since its original issue (and cut by Kevin Gray). The LP (initial pressing on colored vinyl).

While Auer and Stringfellow have continued on—whether as members of the reunited Big Star, as The Posies and as solo artists—the journey began at Failure. Step back in time and hear the future.


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Blind Eyes Open
  2. The Longest Line
  3. Under Easy
  4. Like Me Too
  5. I May Hate You Sometimes
  6. Ironing Tuesdays
  7. Paint Me
  8. Believe In Something Other (Than Yourself)
  9. Compliment?
  10. At Least For Now
  11. Uncombined
  12. What Little Remains
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Believe In Something Other (Than Yourself) (Live)
  2. I May Hate You Sometimes (Demo)
  3. Paint Me (Demo)
  4. Like Me Too (Demo)
  5. Alison Hubbard (Instrumental)
  6. After Many A Summer Dies The Swan (Instrumental)
  7. Blind Eyes Open (Instrumental Demo)
  8. At Least For Now (Instrumental Demo)*
    * Previously Unissued.

Cat: OV-93

Categories: , , , , , ,