Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Sam Amidon — But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted

Sam Amidon — But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted

Sam Amidon

But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted

Release date: December 4, 2015


Amidon’s prized and long out-of-print debut.

Before Sam Amidon’s pair of acclaimed albums for Nonesuch Records, he’d released a few on his own. After a collection of traditional Irish instrumentals, Sam (as samamidon) delivered his true “debut,” But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted.

Recorded with longtime collaborator Thomas Barlett (whose resume includes work with Mumford & Sons, Sufjan Stevens, The National, David Byrne and more), the Vermont-born Amidon weaves through originals, standards and covers from artists as diverse as Mississippi John Hurt to Tears For Fears.

The album’s mix of folk and atmosphvere, sound and story, has made it essential to those who’ve had the chance to hear it. Unavailable for years, original copies now sell for top dollar on the collectors market. Nearly a decade later, But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted finally receives the reissue it truly deserves.

The album’s original 13 tracks are now joined by an astonishing 10 demos from the sessions on CD and Digital.Plus, But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted makes its first appearance on vinyl—initial pressing on translucent blue vinyl, with black to follow.

For those who may have only heard about it, to those who have and want to share or re-experience it again, But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted returns. Don’t make the mistake of missing it again.


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Falsehearted Chicken
  2. True Born Sons Of Levi
  3. Interlude
  4. Head Over Heels
  5. 1842
  6. Interlude
  7. Another Man Done Gone
  8. Louis Collins
  9. Interlude
  10. Roll On John
  11. Rocky Island
  12. Tribulation
  13. Oh Where
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Louis Collins (Demo)
  2. Bourbon And Levi (Demo)
  3. Another Man Done Gone (Demo)
  4. Tribulation (Demo)
  5. The Moon Shines Bright, The Stars They Give Light (Demo)
  6. Head Over Heels (Demo)
  7. Bourbon And 1842 (Demo)
  8. Rocky Island (Demo)
  9. Won’t Turn Back (Demo)
  10. Saro Bounce (Demo)
    LP consists of Tracks 1–13.

Cat: OV-156

Categories: , , , , ,