Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Bobby Cole — A Point Of View

Bobby Cole — A Point Of View

Bobby Cole

A Point Of View

Release date: April 15, 2022


Reissue of the classic 1967 release with 12 previously unissued bonus tracks.

Frank Sinatra walks into a bar…

Well, Frank called it a “bistro”—and Jilly’s on 52nd Street even had matchbooks that when opened read, “My favorite bistro–Frank Sinatra.” It also featured Frank’s “favorite saloon singer,” Bobby Cole, who held court there for many years. His other gigs around New York landed him a recording contract with Columbia, but the 1960 release from The Bobby Cole Trio, while well reviewed, failed to gain traction. It featured no original material from Cole, and was essentially a recorded version of his Jilly’s act—one hard to capture on LP.

Judy Garland walks into a bar…

In 1964, and after hearing Cole’s performance of one of her favorites, Cy Coleman’s “You Fascinate Me So,” Garland invited the New York jazz singer to become the new musical arranger for CBS’s The Judy Garland Show in Los Angeles. When that show ended, Cole returned to New York and Jilly’s.

Jack Lonshein, whose day job was creating covers for artists including Sarah Vaughan, Maynard Ferguson, Coleman Hawkins, Lester Young, (and eventually Big Brother & The Holding Company and The Amboy Dukes!), was a friend of Cole’s. He knew Bobby’s magic, and original songs, were what the jazz world needed. Taking things into his own hands, A Point Of View was released on Lonshein’s own Concentric Records, and as can happen, no matter how well received and reviewed a record is, finding a copy was half the battle for fans. A Point Of View made waves in the boroughs, was raved about in Billboard and Cash Box, and then disappeared—but became a coveted prize by those who experienced it. Artists including Freddy Cole (Nat’s brother), Nancy Sinatra, and Tom Jones all covered material from it.

A Point Of View now returns 55 years later, fully authorized by the Estate of Bobby Cole. Produced for release by Grammy®-winner Cheryl Pawelski and lovingly remastered by Grammy®-winner Michael Graves, this new version presents the original release, plus 12 previously unissued bonus tracks drawn from sessions likely intended for a follow up release to A Point of View that didn’t happen. A fascinating and thorough essay from Grammy®-nominated writer Randy Poe tells the story of Cole, the scene, and the music.

Available on CD and Digital April 15, 2022 (with a double-LP version slated for Fall of 2022), A Point Of View will be finally seen and heard, appreciated, and revered, as originally intended.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Status Quo
  2. The Name Of The Game Is Trouble
  3. Lover Boy
  4. You Can’t Build A Life On A Look
  5. But It’s Spring
  6. Heat
  7. You Could Hear A Pin Drop
  8. A Change Of Scene
  9. A Perfect Day
  10. Elegy For Eve
  11. No Difference At All
  12. I’m Growing Old
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

  1. Checkerboard Life
  2. Drink This Cup
  3. How The Lonely Spend Their Time
  4. I Never Saw The Shadows
  5. Tear For Tear
  6. When She Was In Love With Me
  7. Get Off Looking Good
  8. At The Darkest Hour
  9. A Toast
  10. The Midnight Flower
  11. Never Ask The Hour
  12. A Change Of Scene (Alternate Take)
  13. Life Rolls On

Cat: OV-493

Categories: , , ,