Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steeleye Span

Steeleye Span - Artist Image


Formed in 1969 by Airport Convention bassist Ashley Hutchings and folk duo Maddy Prior and Tim Hart.

Their name comes from the character John “Steeleye” Span from the traditional song “Horkstow Grange (The Miser And His Man – A Local Tragedy).”

After leaving Steeleye Span, original member Terry Woods was a member of The Pogues from 1986–1993.

Other musicians who have played in Steeleye lineups include Dave Mattacks (Fairport Convention, Paul McCartney, XTC), Gerry Conway (Cat Stevens, Jethro Tull), Pete Zorn (Richard Thomson, Gerry Rafferty), Tim Harries (Bill Bruford’s Earthworks, David Byrne/Brian Eno), Terl Bryant (Peter Murphy), and Martin Carthy MBE.

30 Pixel Spacer