Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Steeleye Span — Live At The Bottom Line, 1974

Steeleye Span — Live At The Bottom Line, 1974

Steeleye Span

Live At The Bottom Line, 1974

Release date: February 16, 2024


Previously unissued performance from the iconic British folk-rock band recorded live at New York’s legendary Bottom Line.

Fairport Convention co-founder and bassist Ashley Hutchings and legendary singer, Sandy Denny parted ways with the group after their classic Liege And Leaf album. Hutchings recruited Tim Hart and Maddy Prior (an established folk duo) and Terry and Gay Woods, naming their new band after a character in the traditional song “Horkstow Grange.” While their line-up fluctuated (Terry Woods would leave and later become the bassist in the classic Pogues line-up a decade later), the band solidified and continues to this day.

Staying true to their folk roots, the band found themselves not only supporting Jethro Tull on tour, but signing to Chrysalis Records. Their breakthrough sixth album released in 1974, Now We Are Six, referring to both number of album releases and band members, (with a cameo from David Bowie on saxophone!) That release included the track “Thomas The Rhymer,” which has become a Steeleye concert staple.

On their fourth tour of the US, Steeleye Span played New York’s fabled Bottom Line in July of 1974, showcasing not only material from their new and previous albums, but adding the classic jig and reel medleys the band had become known for in performance. The 74-minute set includes their #14 UK hit “Gaudete,” the classic “John Barleycorn,” and much more. Many of the US tour dates were headlining shows, they garnered good press and some were broadcast on local FM radio, including the Bottom Line show which was carried on WNYU-FM.

Live At The Bottom Line, 1974 documents what may have been Steeleye Span’s longest and most successful tour of the US, and we’re lucky that on this New York City night, the tapes were rolling to capture this fantastic ever-evolving live band. Slàinte mhath!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Alison Gross
  2. Irish Jigs (including Paddy Clancy’s)
  3. Alison Gross
  4. Song Introduction to “Cam Ye O’er Frae France”
  5. Cam Ye O’er Frae France
  6. Song Introduction to “John Barleycorn”
  7. John Barleycorn
  8. Song Introduction to “Little Sir Hugh”
  9. Little Sir Hugh
  10. Song Introduction “Two Magicians”
  11. Two Magicians
  12. Saucy Sailor
  13. Robbery With Violins/Kitty Come Down From Limerick/O’Rourke’s Reel
  14. Summer Is A Comin’ In
  15. Staines Morris/In Peascod Time
  16. One Misty Moisty Morning
  17. Gaudete
  18. Thomas The Rhymer
  19. The Musical Priest/The Silver Spear/The High Reel
  20. Nautical Medley: Hearts Of Oak/A Life On The Ocean Wave/Rule Britannia
  21. Royal Forester
  22. The Mason’s Apron
    All tracks previously unissued.

Cat: OV-531

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: , ,