Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Chip & Tony Kinman — Sounds Like Music

Chip & Tony Kinman — Sounds Like Music

Chip & Tony Kinman

Sounds Like Music

Release date: June 28, 2019



Brothers Chip and Tony Kinman had fronted some of the most influential bands of the last quarter of the 20th century. Don’t believe us?

After forming the seminal punk band, The Dils (and even scoring an appearance in Cheech & Chong’s Up In Smoke), the brothers became cow-punk pioneers with their next band, Rank And File (whose early line-up included Alejandro Escovedo). They took a more industrial turn with their next band, Blackbird, and returned to more traditional country with Cowboy Nation.

For the first time, 22 previously unissued performances from all 4 bands are collected on Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music. Selected by Chip, and taken from the brothers’ archives, these restored and remastered tracks trace their journey like no other collection has, or could. Featuring photos, ephemera, and new notes from Chip, it takes listeners from the D.I.Y. aesthetic of L.A. punk to cowboy songs that feel like they’ve been around forever.

Speaking of liner notes, while you’re in reading mode, Chip will be featured in the new book by John Doe (X) with Tom DeSavia and Friends, More Fun In The New World: The Unmaking And Legacy Of L.A. Punk, coming June 4th.

Sadly, Tony passed away in 2018, but Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music solidifies the brothers’ legacy, adds to their already beloved body of work and is a fitting tribute to the music they made together.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Real Style – Blackbird
  2. Folks Say Go – The Dils
  3. Me Too – Blackbird
  4. Liberation – Blackbird
  5. Jersey Girl – Blackbird
  6. Dope – Blackbird
  7. Rank And File (Alternate Version) – Rank And File
  8. Candy – Blackbird
  9. Amanda Ruth (Alternate Version) – Rank And File
  10. Lucky Day (Alternate Version) – Rank And File
  11. Paniolo (Alternate Version) – Cowboy Nation
  12. Citizen – Rank And File
  13. Revolution Is Rising – Blackbird
  14. Dream On – Blackbird
  15. Restless – Rank And File
  16. Landslide – Rank And File
  17. Old Paint – Blackbird
  18. Blue Hair – Blackbird
  19. Perfect Day – Blackbird
  20. She’s Real Gone – Blackbird
  21. Rebel (Alternate Version) – Cowboy Nation
  22. All The Same – Blackbird
    All tracks previously unissued.

Cat: OV-334

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: , , , ,