Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Richard Pryor — ‘Craps’ (After Hours)

Richard Pryor — ‘Craps’ (After Hours)

Richard Pryor

‘Craps’ (After Hours)

Release date: February 26, 2021


Expanded edition of legendary comic’s sophomore release.

“This fascinating collection chronicles how Richard Pryor evolved from 1960s nightclub comedian to being the voice of his generation. The performances capture the moment where Richard Pryor stopped being polite. Where he took off his suit and tie and gloves. Where Pryor began to reflect what was happening in the streets and in the counterculture.”

From the new introduction by Larry Karaszewski
(Golden Globe® and Emmy®-winning cowriter of
Dolemite Is My Name,
The People vs. Larry Flynt, American Crime Story, and more).


Originally released in 1971, ‘Craps’ (After Hours) arrived more than two years after his debut, and on a new label, Laff Records. It also came from a tumultuous time in Pryor’s personal life. But this new arrangement and Pryor’s need to create saw him—for the first time since his earliest days in Peoria—performing in nightclubs that drew an almost entirely black audience. In these lively black clubs, he could say anything he wanted; and those parts of himself that had been buried, by shame or censorship, could now serve as his creative fuel.

The original 32 tracks from ‘Craps’ (After Hours) are now teamed with 4 bonus tracks from the out-of-print Evolution/Revolution: The Early Years (1966-1974) and collection—originally co-compiled by Reggie Collins, who helms this new set along with Jennifer Lee Pryor and Grammy®-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski. With new liner notes from Scott Saul, an introduction from Larry Karaszewski, and restoration from Grammy®-winner Michael Graves, ‘Craps’ (After Hours) is ready to start a comedy revolution. Again.


    CD / Digital Track List:
    Disc 1:

  1. Gettin’ High
  2. F**k From Memory
  3. Big Tits
  4. Gettin’ Some
  5. The President
  6. Ass-Hole
  7. The Line-Up
  8. Masturbating
  9. Religion
  10. Black Preachers
  11. Being Born
  12. Blow Our Image
  13. Blackjack
  14. I Spy Cops
  15. Sugar Ray
  16. White Folks
  17. Indians
  18. Ass Wupin’
  19. Got A Dollar
  20. Pres’ Black Baby
  21. Dope
  22. Wino Panthers
  23. After Hours
  24. 280 Pound Ass
  25. Crap Game
  26. Insurance Man
  27. Black And Proud
  28. Gettin’ The Nut
  29. F**k The Faggot
  30. Jackin’ Off
  31. Snappin’ Pussy
  32. Fartin’
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Whorehouse, Pt. 1
  2. Whorehouse, Pt. 2
  3. Wino & Junkie (Alternate Version)
  4. Attica (Behind Those Walls)

Cat: OV-416

Categories: , ,