Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Trini Lopez — The Rare Reprise Singles

Trini Lopez — The Rare Reprise Singles

Trini Lopez

The Rare Reprise Singles

Release date: December 3, 2021


First ever collection of Non LP A- and B- Sides from the Reprise years.

Trinidad López III was born in Dallas, TX on May 15, 1937 and at the tender age of 15, he formed his first band, The Big Beats. Trini played guitar and his repertoire consisted of Mexican folk songs, rhythm and blues hits and rock ’n roll favorites. The Big Beats played the local clubs in Texas where he met Buddy Holly. Holly referred him to his producer Norman Petty and Petty helped The Big Beats and Trini get their first record deal with Columbia Records. Unfortunately, Petty wanted the band to be an instrumental outfit. Trini was not interested in that style of music and soon left the band. He then did some solo sides for Volk and King Records but by 1962 he was without a label and started playing clubs in Los Angeles.

Living and playing in Los Angeles, Trini developed quite a following. Soon, he established a residency at one club in particular, PJ’s, in West Hollywood. Record man Don Costa who worked for Frank Sinatra’s new label, Reprise Records, brought the boss to one of Trini’s shows one night and soon thereafter, Lopez was signed to Reprise and released his first album, Trini Lopez At PJ’s. The album went as high as #2 on the Billboard album charts and Trini’s live cover of Pete Seeger’s “If I Had A Hammer” soon went gold, reaching #3 on the Billboard Hot 100. Trini’s career with Reprise was plentiful, releasing 20 albums from 1963–1969 and establishing himself as one of the first Latin crossover acts to the pop charts. But the long player wasn’t the only place one could hear new Trini Lopez music as he released several non-LP A- and B- sides throughout the years.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of The Rare Reprise Singles, a 24-track compilation that puts together all of the non-LP tracks that Lopez would record for Reprise Records from 1962–1970. Hear many of these songs for the first time on CD, including the studio version of “A-Me-Ri-Ca,” “The Bramble Bush” (from the MGM Production The Dirty Dozen which Trini starred in) and a cover of Randy Newman’s “Love Story,” produced by Bob Gaudio of The Four Seasons.

With liner notes from former Warner Bros. scribe Gene Sculatti, photos and ephemera from Trini’s career with Reprise, this is the ultimate Trini Lopez rarities collection!


    CD Track List:

  1. A-Mer-I-Ca
  2. Let It Be Known
  3. I’ve Lost My Love For You
  4. Regresa A Mi (Return To Me)
  5. Mi Felicidad (Little Miss Happiness)
  6. Made In Paris
  7. Pretty Little Girl
  8. Up To Now
  9. The Bramble Bush
  10. The Ballad Of The Dirty Dozen
  11. Together
  12. Master Jack
  13. Malagueña Salerosa
  14. Something Tells Me
  15. El Niño Del Tambor (The Little Drummer Boy)
  16. Noche De Paz (Silent Night) / Let There Be Peace
  17. Love Story
  18. Five O’Clock World
  19. You Make My Day
  20. Time To Get It Together
  21. Mexican Medicine Man
  22. Su-Kal-De-Don
  23. There Was A Crooked Man
  24. Let’s Think About Living

Cat: OV-456

Categories: , , ,